• Rachel
Verifications
  • Email Address
    Verified
  • Phone Number
    (▒▒▒) ▒▒▒- ▒▒ 01
  • Facebook
    472 Friends
  • LinkedIn
    Validated
  • Positively Reviewed
    2 Reviews
About Me
School
Leeds Metropolitan U.
Work
Vancity Credit Union
Hey, I'm Rachel!
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada · Member since May 2012

I am an enthusiastic traveller and enjoy getting to know people from differnet backgrounds and geographic regions than my own. Born in New Zealand, I have spent most of my life in England, but backpacked through NZ and Australia as an adult. I have lived in Vancouver, Canada, for four years now and am travelling Europe this Summer with my Canadian partner, Alex.

Both of us love: hiking, live music (we will go to a music festival in the UK this Summer), getting involved in environmental activities, independent cinema, ski-ing, camping and cycling. I work as an Executive Assistant for a Credit Union and Alex is an Urban Planner.

When I travel, I like to avoid spending a great deal of time or money on traditional tourist activities, preferring to meet local people, learn about their home town / city from them and discover hidden treasures. I am always keen to ensure that I am respectful of people and the environment wherever I am. I have couch surfed a couple of times and have quite a few friends who also couch surf; most of my friends are those I have met whilst studying or travelling. I love having guests to stay , and am very organized in showing them aroundi and giving them recommendations for the city of Vancouver - being a tourist in my own city :-)

We are excited about our upcoming trip to Europe, to visit my family and friends and discover many new places and people together.

  • 2
    2 Reviews