• Josh
Verified ID
  • Email Address
    Verified
  • Phone Number
    (▒▒▒) ▒▒▒- ▒▒ 37
  • Facebook
    673 Friends
  • Reviewed
    16 Reviews
  • Offline ID
    Personal Info
About Me
School
Jackson High School, Gordon College, TU München, Georgia Tech, Cornell University, Cornell University
Languages
Deutsch, English, Español
Josh's Airbnb Symbol

Visit create.airbnb.com »

Josh

Hey, I’m Josh!

Ithaca, New York, United States · Member since May 2012
Report this user
You have reported this user. Undo?

I'm a PhD student in computer science who loves foreign languages, travel, food, and music. I lived in Munich for an exchange year once and a summer internship again later, and my German is pretty decent. I speak a little bit of several other languages as well, but none at a truly conversational level other than English, German, and perhaps Spanish. I try to travel as much as possible and have enjoyed hopping around Europe and the U.S. (but I haven't been fortunate enough to make it to Asia, South America, or Africa yet). A few of my standout, favorite cities in Europe have been Budapest, Berlin, Edinburgh, Porto, and Lisbon, and I think my favorite visits in the U.S. so far have been smaller, older Southern cities that ooze with charm: Savannah, GA; Charleston, SC; and (on the bigger side) New Orleans. Places I've lived: Jackson, GA (my tiny little hometown way south of Atlanta), Atlanta, Munich, Ithaca, NY (a quirky, liberal college town in upstate NY), and San Francisco, Seattle, and I'll be moving this Fall to New York City to start work.

I always love trying great restaurants while traveling, and I think my all-time favorite cuisine is Szechuan food. I'm a coffee snob (I roast my own beans at home these days) and a beer snob, always on the hunt for the best beer bar in a new place, though the almighty Porter Beer Bar in Atlanta remains the best I've ever found by far.

I'm pretty open-minded about music and I used to DJ at WREK Atlanta, Georgia Tech's student-run radio station. My favorite kinds of music include electronic music (especially house and chillout/lounge), funk, hip hop, soul, jazz, and metal, but I enjoy many other kinds of music as well.

I try to be a very respectful and easy-going guest, and to observe any posted house rules. I like to get to know my host a bit if they're around and willing, but I also respect a host's desire to keep to themselves if they want.