Verified ID
  • Email Address
    Verified
  • Phone Number
    21
  • Positively Reviewed
    72 Reviews
  • Offline ID
    Personal Info
About Me
Work
Just finished, ready to start again.
Languages
English
Hey, I'm Heather!
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand · Member since May 2012

My name is Heather, I am married to Bruce, we have been married for 45 years. I have just retired from working. Bruce works full time. I want to start a bed and breakfast, as I feel I would like to do more, and I like having people to stay, and looking after them. I like to be busy, but on the other hand I also like to relax, with a little shopping, or a good movie, I love a good show (musical or drama) I like to keep relatively fit.
We have hosted students on three occasions, one boy from Germany, who was a secondary school student, he stayed with us for 12 months, which worked very well, and we enjoyed having him to stay with us.
We had two girls from Minnesota, USA, they were special needs teachers, in their last year of University, graduating on their return to USA.
And last year we also had another two girls from Minnesota, last year graduates, graduating as school teachers. We both enjoyed hosting them, and they enjoyed their time with us. They were with us for 6 weeks.
We live in New Zealand, where we have just returned to live, having lived in Australia for the last 12 years. We have two sons, one lives in New Zealand, and one son in Australia, we have 3 grandsons, and two granddaughters,
We lived in Fiji for two years, where we got to know different and varied cultures, it was a great experience, being around National Foreign Aid people, who really enjoyed the travel, and experiencing the changing countries, and what they had to offer, in their culture.
That would be the start of our interest in meeting other people and cultures, where we made really good friends, whom we still visit, or keep in touch with.
I like cooking, love music, all types, do not go to the movies as much as I would like, but love them, also like to watch TV at night. I like to read, also walking and doing Pilates is another thing I like to do. I like interior design, making things look nice,
I really like hosting, looking after people, making sure that they have all their needs met, that they are comfortable, and that their time with us is enjoyable and relaxing.
If I did have a life motto, it would be helping and serving people. I place a large emphasis on my family, I love looking after them, especially my grandchildren, family is very important to me.
We are a non smoking home, and have no pets, we do have a drink, i.e. red wine, some nights with our meal.

  • 72
    72 Reviews
  • Verified ID