Verifications
  • Email Address
    Verified
  • Phone Number
    () - 58
  • Facebook
    105 Friends
  • Positively Reviewed
    7 Reviews
About Me
Languages
English, Français
Hey, I'm Shawnicee!
Sisters, Oregon, United States · Member since May 2012

Hello All!

Hmm, what do I say here? Well, I love to entertain and meet new people, so I thought why not do it more often?! I live in a lovely area where tourists love to visit. With over 300 days of sunshine in a very dry climate, we have blissful winters, and exquisite, warm summers. There is VERY little this locale does not have to offer!

My hosting style is pretty simple: I want you to be comfortable and enjoy your stay to the fullest. Whether that means getting to know each other, showing you around, building friendships, or leaving you alone (you definitely have your own space for solitude). I strive to be as accommodating as possible, whatever that means to you, just let me know.

I am currently a stay-at-home Mom, and always cooking gourmet food (far better than my little one can appreciate); I figured, why not make a little extra?! If you opt for me to cook you breakfast, you can expect things like Frittatas, Quiche, Souffles, German Pancakes (aka Dutch Babies), Crepes, Swedish Pancakes, Fruit Compotes, Reduction Sauces & Syrups, Eggs Benedict, Homemade Breads & Granola, Biscotti, Parfait, heck sometimes I even make my own yogurt! I am a big advocate for natural goodness -- whole grains, fresh produce, herbs & spices for flavor in lieu of fatty butter, honey in lieu of sugar, etc.

I love to cook authentic and exotic regional cuisines: Thai, Carribean, French, Japanese, Indian, Chinese, Spanish, Dutch, Scandinavian, Eastern European, Moroccan (my favorite is tagine), you name it. I toast, grind, and mix my own spice blends all the time and enjoy experimenting with this -- I often give them away as very personal gifts.

Oy, when did life become all about food? It hasn't really, it just seems to overtake the day-to-day. I love to travel and do so quite a bit, though there's always some new place to venture, and wish I could do more of it. I enjoy the outdoors, harder to do now with a youngin, but enjoy hiking, camping, backpacking, volleyball, rock climbing, boating, snorkeling, sailing, swimming, etc. I'm very musically inclined, listening and playing (piano, clarinet, and flute so far, I would like to pick up strings next).

Before my current, thankless occupation of Motherhood, I studied Music (Theory & Performance) & Psychology, owned an Art Gallery, Managed & Tended Bar, and worked in Finance. I very much miss having a personal purpose outside of the home, but find more meaning in what I do now, despite how incredibly frustrating & tedious it can be sometimes.

Anyhow, that's a little about me...Cheers!

  • 7
    7 Reviews
  • 1 Reference