Verified ID
  • Email Address
  • Phone Number
    (▒▒▒) ▒▒▒- ▒▒ 53
  • Facebook
    3585 Friends
  • Offline ID
    Personal Info
About Me
University of Wisconsin-Madison, Princeton, Yale
Deutsch, English, Français, Italiano, Nederlands
Molly's Airbnb Symbol

Visit »


Hey, I’m Molly!

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States · Member since September 2010
Report this user
You have reported this user. Undo?

I'm a 43 year old design professor joining Carnegie Mellon's faculty this fall, and I research the history of design, postwar architecture, computers and the Internet. I live in Pittsburgh.

Academia is my second career: I started working with the Internet in the mid 90s until 2004. San Francisco was my home for many, many years, and I went to graduate school in the New York area. I love to travel and have lived and worked as a designer, design professor or researcher in a number of places in Europe, the US and India, and speak German, Dutch, French and Italian. Still, I'm a midwesterner by birth and it's a big part of my personality. I'm marrying a fellow designer, also a midwesterner.

I'm affable and easy-going. I joke that I know someone you know but it's sometimes true, I love great food, art and design, I'm a fan of indie rock and jazz (but given that I'm in my 40s, my tastes are stuck in the mid-90s), I'm surprisingly good at knitting, and I like dogs and cats. As a guest, I'm low key -- happy to hang out and talk to my hosts, but very self-sufficient, and quite often, very familiar with the cities where I'm traveling.

Favorite places:
San Francisco: It's been home for 7 of 15 years. I love it with all of my heart.
Berlin: It's so vibrant and it's different every single time I go. i've been orbiting the city in some way since 1990.
Montreal: One of my favorite places in North America: I spent the summer there last year on a fellowship at the Canadian Centre for Architecture. What a vibrant place.
Banglaore: I lived there in 2006 for a summer, studying how people share mobile phones.