Verifications
  • Email Address
    Verified
  • Phone Number
    24
  • Facebook
    195 Friends
  • Positively Reviewed
    88 Reviews
About Me
Work
own company
Languages
Deutsch, English, Français, Nederlands
Hey, I'm Heleen!
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, The Netherlands · Member since April 2012

Hi, my name is Heleen and I live my (mostly) happy life in Amsterdam with my partner and two daughters of 18 and 15 years. I came to his city in 1982 and probably will never leave anymore. I love my city, my house, my family, my friends and many other things. Really Amsterdam, ‘ the biggest village on earth’, offers so many beautiful things. We love to bike down town for coffee, shopping at the organic Noord Market or the so called Nine Streets, strolling in the Vondelpark, going to Paradiso or theatre with our daughters. Many times we feel like tourists in our own town!
I was educated as teacher French and Dutch but switched to the fashion industry as there was not enough work in teaching at that time. As a fashion agent I sell woman clothes to shops. As my business becomes more difficult the last year I decided to start b&b, and I love it.
I also love to go hiking in the Alps or reading my books in our beach hut at half an hour from where we live.
I love going to cinema especially documentaries and art house films, and: yoga, meeting family and friends.

If you stay with us, there is a big chance that you meet my partner Karel as well. His work is project manager for art in public space. He is even a more enthousiatic mountaineer as I am: he also loves to climb the rocks as well. And when I am reading my book he is a probably out for sailing on the sea in his Laser.

My two daughters can give you the best advices where to spend your money with shopping. They are working hard at school and dreaming and saving money for their round-the-world-trip within a few years.

Our two cats like sleeping very much.

  • 88
    88 Reviews
  • 1 Reference