• Lorelle
Verified ID
  • Email Address
    Verified
  • Phone Number
    ▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒ 22
  • Facebook
    224 Friends
  • Reviewed
    81 Reviews
  • Offline ID
    Driver License
About Me
School
Wynnum State High School, Brisbane
Work
Retail Supervisor
Languages
Deutsch, English
Lorelle's Airbnb Symbol

Visit create.airbnb.com »

Lorelle

Hey, I’m Lorelle!

Sunshine Coast, Australia · Member since April 2012
Report this user
You have reported this user. Undo?

Introduced to Airbnb by my sisters who have already been hosts in the Blue Mtns and Tasmania for a number of years, I have discovered this is a great way to share this beautiful location (Queensland Sunshine Coast), meet interesting guests and provide them with a clean, comfortable, reasonably priced alternative to staying in a hotel, apartment or hostel.

Previously after working 7 years in numerous professions including bookkeeper & typist (Nambour), clerk & motor cycle courier (Brisbane), telephonist & receptionist (Adelaide), I had the desire to see more of this wonderful world we live in. I travelled extensively in Europe during the late 70's and early 80's, worked in restaurants in Swiss ski resorts & small villages & also worked for a few years as a nanny/au pair for two families. Through all these experiences I realized just how interesting and exciting life could be. I made life long friends whilst travelling and working overseas and I now have many places I can call 'home'.

After returning to Australia I worked part-time in a restaurant & child care centre whilst raising my own children over the next 20 or so years, travelled overseas whenever possible & always maintained contact (via snail mail, phone or internet) with my many international friends.

When my son moved out of home in 2012 to complete high school I was living alone with only my 2 ageing cats for company and life became a little dull so I decided to offer a 'home away from home' to others and had numerous Airbnb & Helpx guests stay. In 2014, after finishing school, my 19 yr old son returned home making life a little less quiet but as I thoroughly enjoyed the interaction with other travellers, I'm still happy to welcome guests into my home.

I love snow skiing, riding large motor bikes (although I gave that up when I started travelling) and walking on the beach in the company of interesting people of all ages (especially at sunrise or sunset) although I seem to do that less nowadays despite my proximity to the beach. I enjoy listening to a variety of music but particularly 70's soft rock. I also like singing (but don't worry, I don't practice when I have guests). I play the piano and a few other musical instruments but just as a hobby, not very well.

Inviting people into my home gives me the opportunity to help others in the same way I was helped whilst travelling in Europe. Feeling at home when you're away from home helps most people relax and enjoy their stay so unless you're looking for a "4 star" privacy holiday, you'll feel right at home here.

There's heaps to do on the Sunshine Coast even if the weather is not perfect all the time. If you're wanting peace and solitude, a quiet walk along the beach or beach path, a swim in my private pool (weather permitting) or a bbq in my back yard, all are available without having to get into your car or catch a bus.

In August 2014 I travelled over 4000klm by car with two Swiss friends (to Melbourne & return) staying overnight in motels. During this road trip I gained lots of tips on the priorities for short term guests so I hope that through this first hand experience I can provide my guests with most of the essentials for a comfortable and enjoyable stay at my house.

I look forward to meeting new people through this AIRBNB experience and hope that my guests also enjoy and appreciate this home stay.