• Mike
Verifications
  • Email Address
    Verified
  • Phone Number
    ▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒ 43
  • Facebook
    173 Friends
  • Positively Reviewed
    12 Reviews
About Me
Work
Retired
Languages
Dansk, Português
Hey, I'm Mike!
Tweed Heads, New South Wales, Australia · Member since April 2012

I'm a single mature (69 y/o) guy living a quiet lifestyle.
Most people say I'm young for my age - whatever that means!
I do have a positive outlook on life and my two passions are traveling and meeting different people from many cultures. Born in Ireland and raised in England, I started traveling in my teens and spent a couple of years working in Scandinavia before setting out on the BIG TRIP. Traveling overland, I spent about 18 months on the road and eventually landed in Australia - my adopted home!
I guess I've visited over 50 countries in my life and there are still more places I want to experience.
Languages are another fascination for me and I love communicating with speakers of other languages. I used to speak almost-fluent Danish and Portuguese but it's been years since I had any chance to practise. I am also a qualified TESOL teacher (teacher of English to speakers of other languages) and happy to help anyone wishing to improve their language skills.
I enjoy good food and wine, movies, hanging out with friends and writing the occasional line or two.
I prefer a beach to the snow, wine to beer, quiet times with one or two friends rather than big parties and have wide tastes in music from opera to pop!
I'm really excited at the possibility of making new friends through Airbnb and, as I've lots of experience in the hospitality industry, I hope to provide guests with an unforgettable experience.
Come and visit some time soon!

  • 12
    12 Reviews