• Savanna
Verified ID
  • Email Address
    Verified
  • Phone Number
    (▒▒▒) ▒▒▒- ▒▒ 85
  • Google
    Validated
  • LinkedIn
    Validated
  • Reviewed
    3 Reviews
  • Offline ID
    Personal Info
Savanna

Hey, I’m Savanna!

San Francisco, California, United States · Member since April 2012
Report this user
You have reported this user. Undo?

I am an environmental consultant and creative nonfiction writer with a focus on natural history, science, and environmental topics. I grew up in Virginia right outside Washington, DC, and went to college in the high desert of Walla Walla, Washington. I am outdoorsy and an avid traveler; I've been to nearly as many countries as years in my age. My favorite travel companion is my husband, Eli; we went on a seven month trip to ten different countries when we were 25, before Airbnb had really gotten off the ground. If it had been around, we definitely would have used it! We love meeting locals and staying in cozy homes. It makes travel so much more personal and memorable.

Though Eli and I are still pretty young, we tend to travel like people much older than we are: we love walking tours, cultural sites, really good food, and planning out our travels well in advance. We're happy to skip the bar, and we like to go to bed on the early side in quiet accommodations. We're also pretty darn tidy.

In terms of hobbies, I love to bike, knit, sew, hike, and geek out on plants. I am a docent at the San Francisco Botanical Garden and love to visit botanical gardens and natural history museums wherever I travel.

Favorite places to visit outside the US (of those I've been to!) include Ireland, Turkey, Japan, Italy, the Greek Islands, South Africa, and Mauritius. I'm looking forward to adding many other places to the list!