Verifications
  • Email Address
    Verified
  • Phone Number
    96
  • Facebook
    167 Friends
  • Positively Reviewed
    3 Reviews
About Me
School
St Gregorys and St Cuthbert Mayne and Gumley House Convent school in Preston in Lancashire
Work
I work as a Senior Sister in an adult Intensive Care Unit in Kingston upon Thames Hospital
Hey, I'm Anna!
London, England, United Kingdom · Member since April 2012

I enjoy good health and work in a hospital about 15 minutes drive from our home. I live in Richmond Upon Thames which is a pretty suburb of southwest London.

I come from a largish family, one of five chidlren. I have a twin brother.

I am married and we are lucky to have 4 children. I work part time as a Sister in an adult Intensive Care Unit.

I trained as a nurse in Guy's Hospital in the late 70's and undertook my specialist training in Intensive Care Nursing at St Thomas' Hospital also in London. It was a great place to be in the 1980's and the view from ITU was quite iconic because the hospital lies on the south bank of the Thames directly opposite the Houses of Parliament and Big Ben. I met my husband whilst I was at St Thomas's.

We have enjoyed some lovely European holidays as a family but I have never had the opportunity to travel outside Europe and this year the time and opportunity make a visit further afield possible.

My favourite films include Jean de Florette and Minority Report. Favourite books include The Lovely Bones and To Kill a Mocking Bird.

I love music and it is a great blessing that the school all the childen have attended stage many concerts a year. You may like to (website hidden) the school "The Cardinal Vaughan Memorial School" because the ethos of the school pretty much mirrors my own ethos.

The school has the most amazing music department and in fact this year the school's Schola Choir toured San Francisco!

I work 25 hours a week so I have time for other activities and for the last 19 years I have also served a local Catholic Primary school as a Foundation Governor. This is a voluntary role.

One of my children is at university studying engineering, the youngest is at school and the oldest two are working. My daughter lives in Putney and the other children live at home.

I like reading and walking in Richmond Deer park which is 5 minutes from our house and has its origins as a hunting ground for Henry VIII.

I would love to take a gap year when I retire! I'd like to travel and explore all the places I dream of visiting but have not been able to see so far. This includes USA, St Petersberg, South America, South Africa, HongKong. But San Francisico has been top of my list for many years ! I think since watching the "Streets of San Francisco" as a child. It starred ?Karl Walden and a very young Michael Doulgas, San Francisco looked so different from the Lancashire milltown town I grew up in. It has always held a fascination for me.

I am a non smoker and enjoy dinner parties at home and in our friend's homes. I like to keep in touch with old friends from school and previous work places.

  • 3
    3 Reviews