Verifications
  • Facebook
    1093 Friends
About Me
School
University of Florence, Johns Hopkins University, Cornell University
Hey, I'm Eliana!
Florence, Toscana, Italy · Member since August 2010

I currently live in Florence, Italy, my hometown. But I lived in the United States for 15 years, while doing scientific research at Johns Hopkins University, Cornell University Medical College, and the NIEHS in Research Triangle Park, NC.
So, I used to live respectively in Durham, NC, in NY City, and in the Baltimore-Washington area. I am joining some of these "alumni" groups, because I could sometimes and/or soon need a "familiar" room or apartment in a "familiar" neighborhood, where I used to live. At the top of my list: Fells Point, in Baltimore, where I really became a deeply felt "adopted" Baltimorean.

Meanwhile, since I still own a tiny condo in Gaithersburg, MD, 10 miles from DC, I could decide at last to rent it out myself, for 11 out of 12 months of the year.
If, otherwise I sell it, I might soon need the "familiar" place to stay, as described above, for about one month a year.

Both ways, I could soon be an active member of these groups.

Quite complicated.. I know.. sorry about that! And sorry about not offering my hospitality in Florence.. but I could still be helpful while you visit my Tuscan region, with insider advice and even touring you around in lesser known hidden paths.

I am not that sort of cold scientist.. I have interest in architecture and urban planning and history.. Actually in Baltimore I was very active in the field of historic preservation.. never had been as much, before leaving Florence, or upon my coming back! lol