Verifications
  • Email Address
    Verified
  • Phone Number
    17
About Me
School
Spotswood College, student
Work
Student, Artist.
Hey, I'm Sandi!
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia · Member since April 2012

Hi there,

It is hard to describe myself, but I'll give it a go. I am a Mum and Yoma to two children, and two grandchildren. I don't see much of my daughter and grandchildren because we are all too busy. My son is 26years old and was a victim of a 'hit and run' car accident six years ago, so I spend a lot of time organizing his life. He lives in a community house and only comes home for the weekend every fortnight, and also for Chrismas, Easter, and other important holidays. He has an aquired brain injury as a result of his accident, but he walks and talks, and is mostly the same as anyone else. I think he is an Angel because he brings so much joy to the world. I am unable to work in payed employment because of my commitment to him, which is why I could use some help financially.
It is my son's room that I would like to lease out when he is not home.

I am using my forced retirement to study counselling, in the hope to help others who are suffering from Grief and Loss. I also do voluneer work and presentations for Road Trauma Support, and Heal for Life, for victims of abuse.

The big love of my life aside from my son is a toss up between my farm, and my artwork. I am passionate about recycling everything. At the farm I have an American style barn that I am converting. I have solar power, a wind generater and water tanks. There are ducks, two dams, chickens, sheep and alpacas. All the fleece from the sheep and alpacas is used for my felt works. I wash and hand dye all the wool myself. I am an avid op-shopper and re-invent clothing from op-shops.

I have two dogs, a big, fluffy German Shepard kissy, kissy dog, and a small old Jack Russell with an attitude.

I can't live without my animals, my sewing machine, my lap-top, (I sell my finds on Etsy), well I try too. I like watching TV, particulary Aussie Rules, and tipping. I love my gardens, and gardening, and eating food from the vine. I absolutely love to read, I'll read anything, and I love the Sat and Sun papers delivered. I love to go to the Opera, the movies, and just about any live show.
I have nothing against eating meat, but prefer 'clean' food that is free from additives etc. I eat only for nutrition.

I take my son away on holidays as much as I can, because he can't take himself. It's a tough life. Could use a house-sitter on occasion to mind the dogs etc.

I am learning to play the 'Bodhran' which is an Irish drum, and busk on occasion up at the farmers market in Talbot where the farm is. I sometimes annoy the neighbours when I have an urge to practice at midnight. I am a night person, and don't expect much conversation before midday.

I have also written a book and it is in the process of being published on e-books.

I guess you could say I was a bit of a hippy at heart, although I glam up when I need too.

Life Motto...'Never, never, never give up', and 'the past has gone, the future hasn't happened, there is only the present.'

So, that's it folks. Seems there is more to me than I thought. No wonder I'm so tired.