• Joanne
Verified ID
  • Email Address
    Verified
  • Phone Number
    (▒▒▒) ▒▒▒- ▒▒ 67
  • Online ID
    Verified
  • Positively Reviewed
    1 Review
  • Offline ID
    Personal Info
  • Offline ID
    Personal Info
About Me
School
University of Connecticut, BS Accounting
Work
Former CPA and Accountant
Languages
English
Hey, I'm Joanne!
Salem, Massachusetts, United States · Member since August 2010

After working in accounting for over 30 years I am finally free from my desk job and can now travel to some of the places I've dreamed about going to. Being single, I enjoy traveling with my sweet little canine companion, Sophie, who is always up for long walks and getting pets from strangers who always seem to want to know what kind of dog she is (Mini Aussie Mix maybe with King Charles Spaniel).

So far we've done 7 long road trips together & our favorite cities have been St Augustine, FL, Gulfport, FL, Savannah, GA & Montreal. But now it's time to tackle the flying with pets situation so we hope to start with the closest bit of Europe to Boston and that means the Azores, just 4-5 hous direct flight and after that on to Lisbon, Portugal.

I like roaming around on foot or bike & getting a real feel for a place & living more like a local than a tourist. I'm drawn to places with old world charm that are pedestrian friendly with beautiful squares & gardens, old & interesting architecture, a café culture, lots of musical venues (a favorite of mine has been the International Music Festival in Savannah, GA), a thriving art scene, and prefer a bohemian vibe over glitz.

I've been a vegetarian & done Yoga for 25-30 years which has helped me deal with some challenging chronic health issues, like Lupus. So for me now it's all about taking good care of my health, slowing down in a world gone mad & enjoying the simple pleasures, finally having days to call my own & and the freedom to explore places that call to me.

I just got a new digital SLR camera I do not yet know how to use but I look forward to learning photography & some Portuguese during an upcoming stay in Portugal. I also like concerts, movies, gardening, reading , coffee & sweets, and driving my Mini Cooper on windy roads. I enjoy music of all kinds and am learning to play a little stringed instrument I picked up in Asheville, NC called a Woodrow and am looking forward to hearing authentic Fado music in Lisbon.

I am one of the minority who chooses to not use any of the popular online social networks so that's why I'm writing all this about myself here instead as a member of AirBnb not linked to any of those. I spend a lot of time on line researching places before I travel and going to all the vacation rental sites to find my weekly & monthly rentals and am always thankful when I see some Hosts willing to allow pets. Sophie is 6 years old, 24 pounds, well behaved, and neater & quieter than most people (LOL).

Wishing the world were filled with more peace & love , which is why I always sign off .....

Peace & Love,
Jo & So

  • 1
    1 Review
  • Verified ID