• Ryan
Verifications
  • Email Address
    Verified
  • Phone Number
    (▒▒▒) ▒▒▒- ▒▒ 33
  • Facebook
    316 Friends
  • Positively Reviewed
    8 Reviews
About Me
School
University of Puget Sound, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Work
Executive Recruiter
Languages
English
Hey, I'm Ryan!
Los Gatos, California, United States · Member since March 2012

I grew up in a very small town (pop. 350) in rural Oregon (USA). After years in Seattle, then Madison WI, and Washington, DC., I'm now living in the Bay Area. I love to travel and usually go the backpacker/adventurer route when I'm outside of the US. I'm not one for fancy hotels - I've slept on enough floors and couches to know how to travel lightly. So I love Airbnb.

I've traveled to Europe, Asia, and Latin America and I'm still seeking passport stamps. My dream trips would be to backpack 1) around the eastern mediterranean, from Croatia to northern Africa and 2) through southeast asia, Thailand to Burma. 3) Maybe through the Andes, too...and Alaska...and Iceland...and Austrailia/NZ. And then bike across Africa!

My favorite trips: Bogota, Colombia in 2010; backpacking through Italy in 1999; Home stays in 5 cities of Japan when I was 15.

Favorite food: Best pizza I've ever had was in a small bistro with a stone oven in Florence, best mint tea while I was trapped in a rug shop in Morocco (and a bit nervous). Best latin from a tiny taco stand in Tijuana while I was volunteering (bonus: I didn't get sick). Best steak off a hibachi in Japan. Best lobster? Not Maine, but fresh and grilled (email hidden) in Belize. For anything pork, you can't beat Puerto Rico!

Favorite cities I've visited.: Vancouver, BC; Lisbon; New Orleans; Venice;

Cities I've lived: Portland, OR (is anywhere better? Nope.); Seattle, WA; Madison, WI; Washington, DC; Salamanca, Spain; Los Gatos, CA.

I've rented my places in the past over that "list" owned by Craig and always ask that people follow a simple standard: treat my home the way you'd expect me to treat your home. That means be friendly, be a good person, and keep everything relatively clean. So I follow the same standard myself.

Languages: native English, some Spanish

Always happy to connect with you on (website hidden).

  • 8
    8 Reviews
  • 3 References