Verified ID
  • Email Address
    Verified
  • Phone Number
    () - 28
  • Positively Reviewed
    3 Reviews
  • Offline ID
    Personal Info
About Me
Hey, I'm Jay!
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States · Member since March 2012

My wife and I are recently retired teachers. We have traveled each summer for the past 35 years, mostly to Europe and the American west, and we have rented out our house each of those summers (though not yet via airbnb). We are avid hikers, and we also enjoy gardening, reading, writing, socializing with friends, and adventurous dining. We both follow politics closely (Obama was a student of mine in high school). I am currently working on a project to supply school uniforms for students in South Africa who cannot afford to purchase them.
Five things we can't live without: our granddaughter, our friends, good food (me), beer (my wife), music (I'm a child of rock and roll, but currently listen mostly to jazz, blues, and folk), living in Hawaii.
Favorite travel destinations: the Rocky, Cascade, and Sierra Mountains of the American west, the Swiss, Austrian and Italian Alps. We've loved everywhere in Europe that we've ever visited: cities and rural areas in France, the United Kingdom, Ireland, Germany, Austria, Italy, the Netherlands, Belgium, Hungary, and the Czech Republic. I confess to a special love for Paris. I traveled extensively throughout Southeast Asia in the late '60s and especially loved Cambodia (before the horror of the Khmer Rouge changed everything).
Our preferred style of travel is to stay in apartments and rent cars, though we ditch the car when we're in a city. The highlights of many of our trips have been times we've met local people. We have encountered hundreds - maybe thousands - of people on our travels and can count the unpleasant experiences we've had on the fingers of one hand. We have not yet been airbnb hosts because we have had the same renters for the past 12 summers.

  • 3
    3 Reviews
  • Verified ID