Verified ID
  • Email Address
    Verified
  • Phone Number
    () - 77
  • Facebook
    707 Friends
  • Google
    Validated
  • LinkedIn
    Validated
  • Positively Reviewed
    64 Reviews
  • Offline ID
    Driver License
About Me
School
California State University, Long Beach, Gardena Senior High
Work
Self Employed - Dog Obedience Specialist / Blogger / Internet Publisher
Languages
English
Hey, I'm Lara!
Long Beach, California, United States · Member since August 2010

Welcome to my "By The Beach" airbnb listings...the TREEHOUSE BED & BATH, TREEHOUSE FUTON/LOFT, TREEHOUSE COMFY COUCH, CRAFTSMAN BUNGALOW, BUNGALOW AIRBEDROOM, BUNGALOW AIRGUESTBED, and BUNGALOW COMFY COUCH! These are SEVEN SEPARATE listings, and oftentimes I have more than one booked at the same time, so you MAY meet other airbnb travelers while staying here.

The TREEHOUSE BED & BATH is actually my bedroom...it was my first airbnb listing and was quite popular as it is very spacious and has an adjoining private master bathroom. I migrated to my guestroom whenever it was booked. However, since converting my guestroom into a listing, it is not typically available anymore unless I am out of town, in which case I sometimes sublet it thru airbnb...but be sure to check the calendar in this listing for availability, as I sometimes do still open it up and migrate to another room on the grounds if the demand is high for a private room with a private bathroom.

The TREEHOUSE FUTON/LOFT is my guestroom, and is now my preferred room to host those who want to book a private room. It shares a bathroom with one other person who may book the TREEHOUSE COMFY COUCH, which is my living room couch, altho a guest in the Futon/Loft will have the bathroom to themselves if the Couch is not booked. The Comfy Couch is a "shared room" during the day as it is a common living room area, but I have room divider partitions to block it off to be quite private at night, so it is very popular for travelers on a budget!

The CRAFTSMAN BUNGALOW is a SEPARATE 2-bedroom, 1-bath house available on the same grounds (across my courtyard) for those seeking the privacy of booking an ENTIRE HOUSE. When the ENTIRE HOUSE is NOT booked, the PRIVATE BEDROOMS (each bedroom door has a lock for added privacy/security) are also available for booking separately as a HOUSESHARE of common bathroom, kitchen, and living room areas...check out the details in the BUNGALOW AIRBEDROOM and BUNGALOW AIRGUESTBED listings. There is also a BUNGALOW COMFY COUCH listing, which is located in the living room of the Beach Bungalow...however, the Couch will NEVER be booked when there are guests booked in either of the bedrooms, as it is only available for short-term stays of one night and only when the bedrooms are not booked.

When the entire Craftsman Bungalow is NOT booked, I may also come and go through this house, as I sometimes use the Bungalow as an extended workspace during the day or evening. So anyone booking one of the private Bungalow rooms may POTENTIALLY be sharing the house with me as well as one or two other guests.

You can find some of my listings by scrolling down to the BOTTOM LEFT of this profile...to see them all, click on "View All Listings" found at the bottom of the three that are shown.

I have a pup named SPOTI (a Pointer Mix) and two kitties named OREO and FELIX, who will also welcome you warmly to our TREEHOUSE LISTINGS provided you are a "dog and/or cat" person...although it may take Spoti a while, as she is very much a "one-person dog" and she is initially very wary of newcomers. So she may keep her distance at first and though she is normally quiet while you are at home, she MAY BARK when you arrive through the door until she "gets used to you." This is especially the case if you have "new" guests visit you during your stay that she hasn't had a chance to get to know, as she is barking as a "warning" bark to alert me that someone she doesn't know is in the house (alas, if you're not a dog/cat person, our Treehouse may not be the best choice for you)!

My motto? I do what I love and love what I do. I'm an eclectic Entrepreneur and a bit of a Renaissance Woman, as I'm passionate about and into so many different things that there isn't enough space here to list them all! But here's a small sampling...

Sailing, Horseback Riding, Scuba Diving, Yoga, Surfing, Sailboat Racing, Snorkeling, Ballroom Dance, Tap Dance, Running, Rollerblading, Windsurfing, Biking, Gardening, Tennis, Hiking, Kayaking, Skiing, Live Music, Comedy Clubs, Travel, Investing, Blogging, Museums, and of course Movies!

I've travelled extensively through Europe, as I partly grew up in Slovenia (I speak fluent Slovenian and a bit of German), and have family in Slovenia, Switzerland, and Italy, so I truly love having guests from my European "homeland" in addition to guests from other parts of the world as well! My favorite travel style is to check out indie spots that are off-the-beaten path rather than stay at resorts (although an all-inclusive resort visit from time to time also has its appeal!), and my favorite travel destinations so far are the Caribbean and Europe...although I have a growing desire to check out Africa and Australia in future travels, especially after I've hosted guests from these far-away spots who have described how cool these travel destinations are!

I'm self-employed...I have a Dog Obedience business that takes me into the field often, as well as an internet-based business which often finds me working at home in my home office. I've also worked as a Sailing Instructor in the past, and am looking to pick it up again sometime soon!

My style of hosting is that I'll help you with finding cool spots to check out in Long Beach/Los Angeles, and will even join you at times if you'd like and my schedule permits. And I've been known to invite guests to cool local activities as well! I also enjoy just hanging out at home to chat...

...but I also do work quite a bit at home (self-employment is kind of a 24/7 gig!), therefore I prefer guests who are relatively SELF-SUFFICIENT, and are cognizant and respectful that even though I may be at home, I may NOT always be immediately "available" as my home is also my "workplace" and sometimes I need to shut my "work door" to complete deadline-driven projects. I'm also a bit introverted and enjoy my "space" and solitude, so please don't take it personally if I shut my door for some privacy and "down time" periodically.

Because of these odd work hours/locations, I need my guests to provide a 2-HOUR TIMEFRAME of their arrival time for CHECK-IN and to do their best to keep it, since my work schedule has me all over the map (click on the "HOUSE RULES" tab in my listings for more info on what to expect as a guest at the Treehouse or Bungalow!).

So, that's a bit about me...looking forward to checking out your profile to learn about you (remember, the more "complete" your profile is, the higher the chance your reservation request will be accepted), and to possibly host your stay at one of our listings sometime soon!

Cheers, and see you at the Treehouse or Bungalow!

  • 64
    64 Reviews
  • 1 Reference
  • Verified ID