Verifications
  • Phone Number
    26
  • Facebook
    378 Friends
  • Positively Reviewed
    3 Reviews
About Me
School
Carpenter High School, Red Deer College, University of Calgary, University of Nottingham
Work
Health care industry
Hey, I'm Tanya!
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom · Member since February 2012

Hello :)
Thank you for checking out my info.
I am a woman currently living in Nottingham while I complete a semester abroad which was a treat for myself. I am currently on leave of absence from my job in the Health Care sector back home and from my volunteer role as a victim advocate. I come from a big family so enjoy communicating with a lot of different people about a wide variety of topics.
Five things that I can not do without would be coffee (I took a job in a coffee shop to support my coffee habit for a few years and now enjoy my lattes at home) but I have always relaxed over a cup of coffee and had some wonderful conversations. After coffee I am quite a bit more flexible but I love music again quite varied selections from jazz to modern to classical to hip hop pretty much anything but angry rap. I love classical movies and art but I am not sure that I could not live without them. I love to read and that would be difficult for me not to be able to read. My cameras would be extremely difficult to live without as I love to play with photography and hope to take some classes to improve very soon. For travelling I could live without but I love my banana and nutella sandwiches. I am learning how to make crepes now as well.
My favorite travel destinations so far have been Edinburgh and Scotland, Australia, Philadelphia, New York, Paris. I loved Zion National Park in Utah. I love visiting friends all over the world. New Zealand was a great country to travel around. I am wanting to plan some trips to Peru and India but that will be in a few years.
I love books and have my favorites. One is by a Lord Edward Bulwer Lytton who no one has ever usually heard of. I loved the Earth Children series by Jean M Auel but am happy that I don't have to wait for any more in the series. My favorite movies are varied as well as I love older Jackie Chan movies, Doris Day movies esp Glass Bottom Boat, I love Gregory Peck To kill a mockingbird of course but also Gentleman's Agreement - I cry everytime. Another favorite is the Gods Must Be Crazy I & II.

As a guest - I like to be respectful of my hosts home. I don't know what to say other than I keep getting invited back when I stay with friends overseas. I do like to cook and helpout. I enjoy conversation and I enjoy solitary me time. I don't like to be underfoot as I like to go explore the city that I am in during my trips.

My style of travelling is usually very relaxed as I like to be able to have time to enjoy what I am seeing and learn the history about the area and the people. I like to experience a more authentic version of the city as well as the tourist spots. I love when I have time to find a spot to just sit and enjoy the beauty of my surroundings wherever that may be while I read or write.

I am not sure if I have so much a motto as I love a quote that states that true nobility is not being better than anyone else it is being better than you were yesterday. I try to find ways to be a better person every day.

  • 3
    3 Reviews
  • 2 References