Verified ID
  • Email Address
    Verified
  • Phone Number
    () - 00
  • Facebook
    287 Friends
  • LinkedIn
    Validated
  • Positively Reviewed
    2 Reviews
  • Offline ID
    Personal Info
About Me
School
Iolani School, Willamette University, New York University
Work
Powell's Books
Languages
English
Hey, I'm Kelly!
Portland, Oregon, United States · Member since February 2012

My name is Kelly and I am a Gift Buyer for the PDX outpost of the world's largest new and used independent bookstore, Powell's Books. Basically, my job allows me to shop for a living! And my boyfriend's name is Peter. He works in the Quality Control department of Nabisco. We are both 26, active and ready to explore everything that the world has to offer.

I grew up in Hawaii, and moved to New York (then Oregon) to attend university. I've visited Japan, China, the Caribbean, and many places within the USA, but have never ventured elsewhere. Peter calls many places his home, as he moved frequently as a child. He has lived in Israel, Ghana, and a variety of states across the USA. But we both enjoy traveling and wish we could do it more often. We visit Southern California often, as we have friends in the area, and we have annual passes to Disneyland.

I studied Modern European History (French Revolution to the present) during my university years, with a focus on World War II-era Germany, principally the Holocaust. In a couple of years, I'm hoping to return to Law School. Peter studied Biology, and is hoping to attend Graduate School in the Fall.

This April ('12) will be my first adventure to Europe (hopefully the first of many). My boyfriend and I will (attempt) to visit all of the major attractions and historical sites during our short 3 week trek through five major cities - Barcelona, Berlin, London, Paris and finally Rome. We'd like to see each of these cities through the lens of those that live here, though, so we may be asking for your help to seek out the city the way you see it, yourself!

I can understand Japanese very well, but years of not using it has left me unable to speak it. We both have an elementary understanding of, and ability to speak French.

We don't require much as guests. Since our stays in each city will be so short, we will be out and about for much of the day - early to leave and mid-evening to return. We travel lightly - just a backpack each with all of our daily essentials. It's always great to meet new people, but if that isn't your style, that's fine!

  • 2
    2 Reviews
  • Verified ID