Verifications
  • Email Address
    Verified
  • Phone Number
    () - 37
  • Facebook
    175 Friends
  • Positively Reviewed
    4 Reviews
About Me
School
I have a BA in Russian Language and Literature from the University of Washington and a Master's degree in TESOL from Fairfield University.
Work
I work independently as an artist.
Languages
Русский
Hey, I'm Patti!
Seattle, Washington, United States · Member since July 2010

I am a fiber artist known for my bold geometric handwoven rugs, but over the past four years I've become interested in the Korean wrapping cloth (pojagi) and have been working in that idiom. My work is shown in various group shows and galleries although I can't say I make a living at it. The lovely 600 square foot apartment space is my former weaving/fiber studio, where I taught weaving and produced my work. I have now downscaled to a space upstairs where I can still weave and stitch.

My late husband and I enjoyed biking in France, Burma, Laos and Japan, skiing in Austria and France, and hiking locally in our beautiful mountains. I still enjoy cross-country skiing and biking with friends, and am a former rower with a women's rowing club just two miles south on Lake Washington. I like to stay fit with yoga and daily walking.

In the apartment there is meditation space where I have practiced Vipassana meditation, although somewhat sporadically. Repose and reflection are important to me and I spend a good bit of time alone, as most artists do, and value that quiet time. My many friends are from the art world and from the outside activities world which my husband and I shared. It is an eclectic mix, and I treasure this diversity.

My life in art extends to my environment, and I enjoy creating a beautiful home filled with art by local artists and others. Working in the garden also fulfills the need to create beautiiful surroundings. I enjoy meeting people of diverse backgrounds and look forward to helping my guests enjoy their stay in Seattle, my native home.

  • 4
    4 Reviews