Verified ID
  • Email Address
    Verified
  • Phone Number
    () - 57
  • Positively Reviewed
    6 Reviews
  • Offline ID
    Personal Info
About Me
Languages
English, Español
Hey, I'm Mario!
Madison, Wisconsin, United States · Member since February 2012

I am a graduate student in the social sciences at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. My research is with a community in rural Mexico that provides support to extremely poor migrants (illegally) riding freight trains north; the community does everything for free, which is feeding, sometimes housing, sometimes finding medical attention, and more in this vein.. They're pretty rad, and I'm lucky I get to hang out with them.

Before I returned to school, I worked a variety of jobs (I was a delivery truck driver at one point, was a professional counter--that's a real job--at another, and perma-temped for a Extremely Huge Internet Company You Have Heard Of in the department of People Are Smarter than Computers at still another) which basically funded my work as (a) a writer whose novel is still in its second draft and (2) as a community organizer with a few small-scale projects.

I'm originally from San Francisco. I can probably fix your bike if you have tools, or at least tell you what's wrong with it. I'm a vegetarian for more than a decade now. I worked in Nepal at one point but my Nepali's pretty much all gone.

I have seen a bunch of episodes of Cielo Rojo and still can't remember which of the dudes is which. If that makes no sense to you, no need to look it up. The profile photo was taken by a 4(?)-year-old girl in Mexico named Evalin. She *loves* those puppies.

Missy Elliott is underappreciated. I think that's all I got for now.

  • 6
    6 Reviews
  • Verified ID