• Alon
Verified ID
  • Email Address
    Verified
  • Phone Number
    ▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒ 68
  • Positively Reviewed
    51 Reviews
  • Offline ID
    Passport
About Me
Work
historical researcher and writer.
Languages
English, עברית
Hey, I'm Alon!
London, England, United Kingdom · Member since January 2012

I'm an historical researcher and writer, of both creative and academic works. In the past I've written novels, fairytales, and a piece for the stage. In younger days I used to travel quite a bit, study and work abroad.

I spent most time in Greece, France, Belgium and Holland, Italy, USA, India & Nepal, along with a trip to Brazil following many S.American friends in London. Though, I'm more sedentary these days, my travels in the past few years have been to Berlin & Israel for family reasons.

Among earlier works, a road book based on work in Eye Camps in Nepal.

In the mid-late '90s, an adaptation of a little known but fascinating leaf of human history: a controversial healing of a deaf boy in Napoleonic Paris. Though it has yet to be staged, the piece was of great interest to my favorite theatre director, Ropert Lepage.

Over the past 15 years I've focused on a variety of works (creative & academic) based on the Biblical text of Genesis, and the Shoah (Holocaust).

Though I do not practise religion, I have continuously studied this important part of human evolution.

My own family history in the 20th Century has also dictated my study of the Holocaust. In the last 7 years I began two concurrent books: re: Primo Levi's Accounts of Auschwitz, and a subsidiary monograph on British POWs in Auschwitz. I'm currently preparing the latter for publication, following interest of a literary agent.

I balance my mental activities with physical ones. I exercise daily at home in a studio space, and go for walks in nearby parks of Primrose Hill / Regents Park, and Hampstead Heath. I also swim regularly and belong to a Tai-Chi club (Wu style)

In younger days I used to be an active football (soccer) and cricket player.
I am now largely a spectator of these and other sports mostly on tv.

I also used to be a proficient chess player, and still enjoy the odd game..

I have always enjoyed the theatre, and blues concerts in small & intimate locations.
Over the years I increasingly began to enjoy classical music. I'm in awe of those
who play instruments of any kind.

I enjoy cooking, specialising in hummus and a few other mediterranean dishes.

I became an AirBnB host with encouragement of a cousin in Barcelona who does the same. I recently inherited the flat following the death of my mother. She had a long and varied career as drama teacher, choreographer, body-work practitioner, dance-movement therapist, author and visual artist. Hence the studio in the flat, which continues to be used by others for a variety of activities. My mother's artwork and that collected on her travels largely decorates the flat. Much of the architecture including curved bottom bedroom wall and outstanding bookshelf in the living-room were done 20 years ago by a close Palestinian friend, architect and master craftsman, who is currently undertaking various new refurbishments (some of which can already be viewed in the photos, regularly updated to accord with the changes).

The flat may be most interesting to creative people. But it is obviously not the main reason why prospective guests may choose to stay here, rather the offer of a homely atmosphere in a lovely and convenient part of London. The Guest Reviews to date seem to attest to it, as good-a-guide to the perplexed as any.

.

  • 51
    51 Reviews
  • 1 Reference
  • Verified ID