• John
Verifications
  • Email Address
    Verified
  • Phone Number
    ▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒ 60
  • Reviewed
    26 Reviews
About Me
School
Yawn....yes, aeons ago.
Work
Only when I feel the need.
Languages
Français
John's Airbnb Symbol

Visit create.airbnb.com »

John

Hey, I’m John!

Cornhill-on-Tweed, United Kingdom · Member since January 2012
Report this user
You have reported this user. Undo?

Semi retired, professional background, world traveled (with boots and rucksack.!) Here in the U.K. I (volunteer) teach mountaineering skills and dinghy sailing.
.
Having visited about 40 countries myself, I often host friends from around the world or Brit friends who want to get away from the cities.
I am involved in Couchsurfing, Scouting and the Duke of Edinburgh's Award Scheme, and actively participate in backpacking and other outdoor activities.
.
I love history , architecture, mid range music, theatre and play chess and scrabble (both badly).
.
I live in the very rural Borders, next to the Northumberland National Park in a former railway cottage dated 1885. (The railway has long gone and you need a car or, better still, hiking boots or a bike to get around here).
For me , its about hosting people who can be regarded more as friends, rather than guests.
.
There are just seven people in our hamlet...plus four dogs , two cats and the chickens. We have a great local neighbourhood, with a formidable Pub Quiz Team (not the animals).
.
Its warm and dry in the house, but not really a Townie bolt hole, unless you also like intermittent electricity, private drainage and water, the rooster next door and the bleating lambs!