Verified ID
  • Email Address
  • Phone Number
    (▒▒▒) ▒▒▒- ▒▒ 69
  • Reviewed
    164 Reviews
  • Offline ID
    Personal Info
About Me
Masters Degree in Community Psychology (University of New Haven Ct; certified peer counseling teacher/leader
I am a freelance grantwriter: I develop proposals to get grants (money) with several nonprofit agencies in this region
MacClurg's Airbnb Symbol

Visit »


Hey, I’m MacClurg!

Rochester, New York, United States · Member since January 2012
Report this user
You have reported this user. Undo?

I am an active 72 year old Euro American female (mostly Celtic ancestors). I bought my house in 2009, a 3 bedroom 1920 colonial in the City of Rochester in a racially diverse community called the 19th Ward ((website hidden)) located in the SW quadrant of the City. I work out 3 times a week with Pilates and Cybex at a health club. I am a freelance grantwriter and have a home office. I work with several nonprofits serving diverse populations: e.g., Judicial Process Commission (exoffenders); Ibero-American Action League (mainly serving Hispanics); Charles Settlement House (low income families); Ganondagan State Historic Site (Native American cultural programs for region). I like getting people connected: I formed the Winbourne United Neighbors block club the first year I moved here and did the same in my last city neighborhood. I organized a monthly freelance grantwriters event to interrupt the isolation of freelancers. I have a large family, most of who live here and we have periodic social events. I enjoy music, cultural and the many outdoor festivals that this community is known for, including the nine day Rochester International Jazz Festival in June, one of the best and biggest in the country. I transformed my small back yard into the beginnings of an English garden, i.e., lots of bushes and plants, a path, mulch and no grass. I am a member of and teacher in a peer counseling program called Re-evaluation Counseling. I enjoy people of all ages and backgrounds. It is easy for me to converse with strangers; and I am friendly with pretty much everyone. As for how I host: I provide a clean attractive space, in a nonsmoking environment. Depending on when folks come, I may be at one of many community/counseling related meetings; and when home am delighted to visit with my guests to the extent they would like that. My house is around the corner from the 390 expressway, across the river from the University of Rochester campus (walkable); near Rochester Institute of Technology and Monroe Community College; about 10 minutes from downtown Rochester and 5 minutes from the airport. I have rudimentary understandings of Spanish, French and sign language: I am not fluent by a long shot. My long range goal is to live to at least 100 and to make decisions now (ie excercise, diet, stress, relationships, health care) that will help me get there. I have never had a "bad" airbnb guest. Everyone has been a delight to meet.