• Ian
Verified ID
  • Email Address
  • Phone Number
    ▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒ 14
  • Facebook
    298 Friends
  • Reviewed
    51 Reviews
  • Offline ID
    Personal Info
  • Offline ID
    Driver License
About Me
Macquarie University Sydney
Former lawyer (estate planning, equity litigation and commercial / property law). Recently started work as an English (ESL) teacher (and have very flexible hours / days / months).
Ian's Airbnb Symbol

Visit create.airbnb.com »


Hey, I’m Ian!

Surry Hills, Australia · Member since January 2012
Report this user
You have reported this user. Undo?

I was a lawyer for most of my working career but since I gave up full time work a few years ago (and got my CELTA qualification) I've been working as a relief ESL teacher, teaching English to foreign students. I like to take long trips every year.

I've experienced Airbnb as both a guest and a host. It makes such a difference to the travel experience. To be able to live in a foreign city not as a passing tourist but as a local, even if only for a short time, makes the travel experience so much more worthwhile.

I'm a non-smoker and I'm a fairly unobtrusive guest. I do like to get to know the people I am staying with (when in a shared house) and hear all about life in their city.

2016 will see me travelling through Europe, starting in Manchester, UK and ending up six months later in Greece. I've been to most of the countries I will be visiting but some, such as Albania and Macedonia will be a 'first' for me. My flight from Sydney to Manchester, taking just under 24 hours through Dubai, will be the exact trip, in reverse, taken by my ancestors in 1852 when they left Manchester to come to New South Wales (before Australia was created), a boat trip that took them exactly four months. I find that fascinating.