Purchased in 2001
Amanda is a lovely person, who was generous with her tomatoes and pears. I would love to write a glowing review but I can't. The cottage has no screens on the windows or doors ( I left 2 adjustable screens there that I bought for our stay). You can see daylight around both doors. The bedroom air conditioner has never had it's filter or coils cleaned (according to Amanda), so beware if you are sensitive to molds or mildews. Wall heater in bedroom had burn marks on grill, I was glad we did not need to use it. The mattress is not good for people with back issues. Much firmer on the corners, than the middle of the sides. The furniture does not utilize the space well. We banged our ankle repeatedly on the metal corner of the bed frame. If a smaller night table was used the bed could be moved closer to the wall. If a smaller dresser was used, a second night stand could be placed. A big chest with a big mirror sitting on top takes up a big chunk of the closet space. A small child's chair uses space that could fit an adult chair. A piano is great for a musician, but a desk would be much more useful in the cottage. A coffee table could be where there are two small foot stools. The futon is not a comfortable seat if you have back issues. It places your knees higher than your hips. The kitchen is very hard to function in. You must be tall to use the micro on top of the fridge. A smaller fridge with a counter over it would work much better. The stove has the numbers worn off the dials, so it can be confusing when it is turned half way. It is right against the wall, which makes it hard to flip an egg if you are right handed. The drawers in the kitchen have no stops, so they start to drop as you pull them out. The oven was dirty so we did not use it. The fridge motor makes a high pitched whirling sound, which is very noticeable at night, so I had to wear ear plugs to sleep. The bathroom is very small. Hard to even put lotion on after shower. Stall shower is almost impossible to shave in. No counter space in bathroom. Again, Amanda was a very nice person, but that is not enough to make this a place I would stay at again.
We loved staying at the Poppy Cottage. The peaceful setting in the historic part of Sherwood was just what we wanted. The cottage is clean, attractive, charming, and well cared for. The piano is a nice bonus, and the backyard was much appreciated, too.
Response from Amanda:
Thank you Emily. I hope you come again when travel brings you this way.
All the best,
The cottage is in a great part of town and perfectly located for wine tasting. We didn't spend much time in the house, but we loved nibbling on blackberries in the backyard, listening to music from my iPhone through the sound system, and relaxing on the couch while watching Netflix streaming. We definitely will return when we have the chance.
We only stayed one night in the Poppy Cottage but it´s a lovely place. We liked much the garden and the girls played darts while we relaxed in the garden chairs. Amanda is a helpful and warm host. She gave us good advice for dinner and breakfast.
Response from Amanda:
Thank you. I hope your trip was all you intended and more. You are welcome any time you are in the area.
This is a great little cottage in a great little town. It was clean and just felt like home. I could have stayed there so much longer!
- A piano!
- Great little backyard with a dart board.
- Super close to a great business district.
- Close enough to Portland
Such a cute place, everything you need in a cottage and extremely close to all areas of the Willamette Valley as well as only 20 min from Portland. there's not much in the way of food/dining, entertainment here so I recommend staying here if you want some peace and quiet, want to spend nights at home, etc and wine taste during day. As that is exactly what I was looking to do, this was a perfect stop for me