Dorothy

Hey, I’m Dorothy!

Adelaide, South Australia, Australia · Member since December 2011
Report this user
You have reported this user. Undo?

I live in a large comfortable house in an inner city location. I currently have two permanent guests, and Airbnb guests in a third bedroom. A Fourth room is available on an ad hoc basis but I usually keep this free for visitors or an overflow.

I first encountered Airbnb when I stayed in an apartment in Oslo (chasing the Northern Lights in January of 2012 - fantastic). I built my home in the late nineties and have always had lodgers to help me manage the mortgage and maintenance costs so I have been accustomed to sharing my home. When I encountered Airbnb, I thought that this was a way of meeting some great people from all over the world. I like meeting people with varied age groups and experiences and from parts of the world that are foreign to me, although I have a lot of Australian visitors are well.

I work in a regular job Monday to Thursday, and so am out promptly in the morning. People are free to set their own pace and can get up at their leisure and decide how they will spend their day. I am happy to provide sight-seeing and other suggestions if required though.

I am also a Marriage Celebrant, and so sometimes have clients visiting my office at the front part of the house. This is a part time occupation, which is authorised by the Commonwealth government. I have married people from all over the world and in a variety of locations, such as on the beach or in the hills, or of course some lovely gardens.

I am an avid reader and when I have time also pursue writing and publishing interests.