• Ilona
Verified ID
  • Email Address
  • Phone Number
    (▒▒▒) ▒▒▒- ▒▒ 53
  • Reviewed
    84 Reviews
  • Offline ID
    Personal Info
About Me
Designer & Educator
English, Español, Nederlands, עברית
Ilona's Airbnb Symbol

Visit create.airbnb.com »


Hey, I’m Ilona!

New York, New York, United States · Member since November 2011
Report this user
You have reported this user. Undo?

I am an Industrial Design Engineer - living in New York City, born in the Dutch Caribbean - who creates products, services, systems and educational programs, with an eye towards social, environmental, and economic impact.

Products I have designed include an embryo transfer pump for IVF, a seatbelt system for wheelchair seated drivers, an innovative oarlock system for competitive rowing, an ergonomic MIDI synthesizer stand, an open source playground for elementary learning (built in over 27 locations in 10 different countries).

For the last couple of years I have been using gardening as a medium for education and early health care prevention. I build greenhouses, green walls, green roofs, hydroponic systems and get my hands dirty in gardens with thousands of young children, special needs children and at-risk teens in the public school system. I use the garden as a practical tool to educate about the food source, healthy eating, green economy and to teach parts of the school curriculum like math and science (units, measurement, statistics etc). My last big project is the design and build of a hydroponic greenhouse in Harlem NYC.

When I'm not gardening or developing health care products, I'm traveling. This year I spent 2 months in Europe and the Sahara Desert, trekking to raise money for a children's charity. Eating is my favorite past time.

Some of my favorite travel destinations so far are:
- Costa Rica
- Japan
- Israel

I am gay-friendly, kosher-friendly, veggie-friendly and love to have interesting people in my home. I have a cuddly 9lbs shih tzu called Winston.