• David
  • Email Address
  • Phone Number
    ▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒ 48
  • LinkedIn
  • Reviewed
    47 Reviews

Hey, I’m David!

Churriana de la Vega, Spain · Member since November 2011
Report this user
You have reported this user. Undo?

A Californian living in southern Spain, I and my Andalusian wife have two children in their twenties. My wife works in the Emergency Room in Granada, so we have medical advice available at home at all times. Traveling brought me to Spain, and I have broadly traveled throughout Europe, the Middle East, Asia, and America. Through traveling, I have followed my interests in history, art, architecture, gardens (I was a landscape designer in California), music, and general culture, including cooking.

Here in Spain, I earn my living as a translator of Spanish (occasionally French), mainly in Spanish universities and research centers around the country. At one point I did translations for the FAO and have done translations for researchers in other countries.

Apart from this, I am a painter and sculptor and have had a few exhibitions in Spain. I have done literary illustration in America as well as scientific illustration (mostly plants and animals) in Spain, the most recent being published in books on animal behavior and in field guides in Spain and in international journals. I have published cartoons and caricatures in the U.S. and in Spain. Also, I do graphic design in addition to the other forms of artwork. I have done commercial sculpture (mainly miniatures) for many years, sold widely throughout America and elsewhere.

From a perspective of art, I offer my experience to advise visitors on the very rich tapestry of culture available in southern Spain, from prehistoric cave paintings to Roman ruins to Arab castles and palaces to medieval cathedrals to medieval oil presses to modern house caves to lost mountain villages to karstic formations; from flamingos to flamenco, from paella to gazpacho, from jasmine to geraniums, from sherry to pacharán, from Gibraltar to Little Hollywood; from dancing horses to Iberian hogs, from the Mediterranean to the Guadalquivir, from Picasso sculpture to Calatrava bridges. And much, much more.

English is my native language, I am fluent in Spanish, and can communicate in basic French.

Everyone in our family (immediate and extended) likes foreigners, and so we look forward to have visitors and hope to treat them with the same welcome as house guests. We hope the feeling will be mutual.