• Julia
Verifications
  • Email Address
    Verified
  • Phone Number
    (▒▒▒) ▒▒▒- ▒▒ 90
  • Facebook
    296 Friends
  • Positively Reviewed
    1 Review
About Me
School
Gloucester High School, Massachusetts College of Art and Design
Work
Scenic Artist
Languages
English
Hey, I'm Julia!
Gloucester, Massachusetts, United States · Member since November 2011

Hi, I'm Julia from Gloucester, Massachusetts and I'm 37 years old. I recently moved back here from Brooklyn, New York so I could live by the beautiful sea shore. I bought an old house and have been renovating it together with my boyfriend. I'm a set painter and have been working on movies, TV shows and commercials for about 15 years. I work very hard to pay the bills but my real love is making art. Although painting sets is very artistic and challenging, my dream is to someday not have to do it anymore and be able to support myself making my own work. I am a fabric artist, block-printer and a painter.
When I was a teenager I read all of Jack Kerouac's books and decided that I wanted my life to be about self discovery and travel. I spent a good deal of time in my early 20's in Central America- Guatemala, Belize and Mexico on separate occasions. My motto for traveling in my 20's was always to forgo luxury in search of authenticity. In that way traveling has been a transformative experience for me. I have traveled across the United States several times, for the adventure of it. I enjoy immersing myself in different cultures to get an alternative point of view. In recent years, my traveling has not been so rough but usually on the cheap and with the goal of learning something new. I have traveled to Berlin, Paris, Rome, Florence, Barcelona, Madrid. I usually travel alone because I find I can meet people easier that way and it provides a better opportunity to practice my language skills- which aren't sensational but I always enjoy the challenge of learning. I speak a little Spanish, understand some German and Italian, but am by no means fluent.
I have a boyfriend, named Andre who lives in Seattle and builds boats. He's a boat carpenter and a welder from Maine. He's very outdoorsy and handy to have around. Sometimes we travel together when we are both flush. We both enjoy comedy, music and nature. We hope to someday buy a piece of land, build a self sufficient house together and raise most of our food. We have no kids and are enjoying that very much!
We are quiet, considerate and very neat and would be spectacular guests. Because Andre and I have to travel a lot when we work, we have learned to be very thoughtful guests. I know how much it costs to keep a house running and the effort it takes to keep it clean and beautiful so when I stay I always like to leave a place neater than how I found it and bring positive energy wherever I go. I will always contribute in some way like with cleaning or with food regardless of whether I'm paying for my room just because I want my host to feel appreciated. I personally don't like to feel like I am making someone have to work very hard to accommodate me because it means so much to me to be given a chance to save a little money and also be allowed to feel connected. I have lived in hotel rooms for months at a time for jobs and there is something so lifeless and depressing about them. My friends will attest to the fact that I always try to do something to make their lives better when I stay with them.

  • 1
    1 Review