Verifications
  • Email Address
    Verified
  • Phone Number
    ▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒ 97
  • Facebook
    310 Friends
  • LinkedIn
    Validated
About Me
Work
Self Employed Software Test Analyst/Web Developer
Languages
Deutsch, English
Hey, I'm Julie!
Irvine, Scotland, United Kingdom · Member since May 2010

I'm 35 and Adam is 34, we live in a seaside town on the West coast of Scotland. We hope to move to Berlin in the next few years and continue my ambition to be a campaigner for Autism Awareness (either that or open my Autism friendly cupcakery if that doesn't work out) and his ambition to drink German beer.

I was pretty well travelled by the time I was 12 (father was in the army), lived in Berlin(hence the retirement plans), Paris, Cyprus, Ireland, Iserlohn, and then back to the UK! It's only in my adulthood that I got the taste for travelling again after my other half told me he had never been outside the UK, never mind our town!

So with that little bit of motiviation, we are slowly but surely putting little markers in our map of the world :)

A little more about me -

First and foremost I think it would be prudent to tell you that I have Aspergers. Most people don't notice, or even think I have it(I was diagnosed aged 31 - news to me!) - but I think it only fair for you to know if I am going to be a guest!

To be honest it really doesn't affect me as profoundly as most people on the spectrum - I can make eye contact, I can shake hands, even the occasional hug! I do have a sound sensitivity - but it rarely interferes with my day to day life (i have great earplugs).

So onto the more interesting things to know about me -

As hinted at before - I'm an avid baker, so I may even prove it given the opportunity! At the moment it's purely cupcakes and brownies, but I'm branching out into cookies this year, tasty tasty cookies.

I adore food (which will be plain to see when you meet my tubby self) so will be on a mission to visit some restaurants, so it will be nice to get some pointers to the great eateries of your neighbourhood!

The boyfriend is Adam and is the love of my life - we've been best friends since we were teenagers and got together 5 years ago. He's beardy, very funny and a lovely guy to know - he's good for a bit of banter but just contents himself with winding me up a lot. He's very easy going and is most definitely the yin to my yang - or the other way around :)

We both love music, which can range from classical, to metal, to electro and everywhere in between. Often when we travel, we try and go see live bands so if you have recommendations we would be more than grateful!

As guests, we are very laid back but very respectful and polite. We don't expect to be run after, although that's nice now and again! We clean up after ourselves and can be unobtrusive when required. That's not to say we don't like to sit down with a cup of tea and have a good natter, but if that's not your style as a host we will most certainly respect that. Overall we are very friendly, good-natured and can't wait to meet you!