• Nicola
Verified ID
  • Email Address
    Verified
  • Phone Number
    ▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒ 85
  • Reviewed
    2 Reviews
  • Offline ID
    Passport
About Me
Work
Primary school music teacher
Languages
English
Nicola's Airbnb Symbol

Visit create.airbnb.com »

Nicola

Hey, I’m Nicola!

Report this user
You have reported this user. Undo?

I am a cellist and part-time primary school music teacher for recorder, cello, piano and general music. My partner Sam Wise plays double bass and is a specialist engineer who designs the facilities and technical installations for performing arts buildings. His full professional profile and information about his company Venue Strategies can be found on LinkedIn
I am the mother of two boys and a girl. My daughter is my youngest and is presently studying American Studies at Univ of North Carolina at Chapel Hill on an exchange programme. One son is training as a doctor and the other is on a Masters course at Oxford University. Sam has two sons. The eldest, called Sam Wise V (American family tradition!), develops and delivers training programmes, mainly on change management, to government and commerical clients; reviews guitars in magazines and has ghost written an autobiography for a well-known person. The other is a landscape artist, who paints professionally by commission.
Though I am conservatoire trained, I am an amateur musician now - leading the cello section in the local symphony and playing by request in a number of other regular and ad-hoc music groups..My partner Sam, does the same on double bass, tuba and flute - but extends into jazz and folk music as well as classical.
We are avid bird watchers, gardeners and DIY people. We enjoy travelling a lot - especially to unique natural environments, particularly to see the birds and other wildlife and flora, but also to historic cities where we enjoy absorb the atmosphere and way of life.
We enjoy staying in hostels and other less formal accommodations to get closer to local people when we travel and to experience a wider part of the local culture. We regularly also take my elderly mother with us since she is young at heart and enjoys herself to the limit of her stamina. Then she likes to relax somewhere interesting, but comfortable. She needs a separate bedroom, but we like to be nearby to help her if necessary. We have taken her on enjoyable longer trips to more distant parts by renting a motorhome together.
We are new to AirBnB, which we discovered only in March 2014, when trynig to plan a trip for the three of us to the east coast of the US to visit my daughter and my partner's family. He is an American, but has lived in UK for over 40 years.
Having found AirBnB, we are considering providing some BnB accommodation in the southern outskirts of London, UK. But at the moment our spare rooms are full of extra furniture belonging to our children, who have bought a house together and will be moving their things in stages over the next 12 months.
We are careful, considerate people and can be trusted to look after the accommodation we use.