• Irena
Verified ID
  • Email Address
  • Phone Number
    (▒▒▒) ▒▒▒- ▒▒ 41
  • Facebook
    889 Friends
  • Reviewed
    5 Reviews
  • Offline ID
    Personal Info
About Me
The University of Chicago
Deutsch, English, Español, Čeština
Irena's Airbnb Symbol

Visit create.airbnb.com »


Hey, I’m Irena!

Chicago, Illinois, United States · Member since October 2011
Report this user
You have reported this user. Undo?

Hello, my name is Irena, I am originally from the Czech Republic, but I have lived in Chicago for almost 20 years. I completed my studies here and in 2003 started working as a Spanish instructor at college level - for the last 10 years now I have been working full-time at the University of Chicago and I also teach a class at the School of the Art Institute in Chicago. I'm also quite active in both the Czech and Hispanic communities here in Chicago - teaching the Czech language to children in a weekend school and coordinating a humanities course for low income Latino population two nights a week. I am obviously interested in foreign languages and cultures; I also love art and music and I travel every time I get a chance.
I adore dogs and all other animals with the exception of spiders and other bugs, so having a pet makes your place even more special and warm.
The five things I cannot live without? Travel, music, friends, food, wine/coffee.
My motto(s)? Carpe diem and don't do unto others what you don't want others do unto you.
My style of traveling? I like to travel on a low budget but do it correctly - save where and when possible to be able to splurge on things that deserve a little splurging. I'm 45 years old and while still very young at heart, I'm no longer a party animal who stays up all night - I like to be active during the day - walking around the city - returning "home" in the evening and maybe leaving again, after a little rest, for some live music; eating out most of the time (but appreciate the possibility to make me a cup of coffee in the morning and maybe a salad in the evening). I don't like to bother my hosts unless they enjoy being "bothered" - either type of host is fine with me.