• Karlene
Verifications
  • Email Address
    Verified
  • Phone Number
    (▒▒▒) ▒▒▒- ▒▒ 78
  • Facebook
    216 Friends
  • Reviewed
    31 Reviews
About Me
School
Bishop Brady High School, Mesa Community College, Riverside City College, IPSB - The International Professional School of Bodywork
Work
Airbnb, Home renovations and maintenace and Massage Therapy
Karlene's Airbnb Symbol

Visit create.airbnb.com »

Karlene

Hey, I’m Karlene!

San Diego, California, United States · Member since October 2011
Report this user
You have reported this user. Undo?

I am a spiritually minded middle aged woman who loves life; People, nature, animals, natural food, sports, reading/learning, music, arts and motorcycles. And, I love to travel!
It began as a child taking sometimes torturous Sunday site seeing trips with my parents around New England. The land of dropped r's and where goodness found is "wicked good"! My mother saying "Look at the sights" whenever we 4 siblings started to fight in the backseat (I love them all to pieces now :) anyway, it opened my eyes.
In a small town of NH I began alone, venturing out into the world at the age of 9 on my horse with my dog by our side. Or, on the bicycle my Oma and Opa gave me for my 8th birthday. I quickly became more aware of all the beauty around me and I wanted more. At 14, I chased a dream of becoming a jockey by running away to Boston heading for Kentucky (when my girlfriend bailed, I chickened out).. At 15, I was hitch hiking many miles to the beaches, parties and big cities of NH and ME. And, at 16 I flew to Germany to live with my brother for 8 months who was stationed in Schweinfurt. I got to travel to Holland and Austria while there. At 18 I won a work competition that took me to Puerto Rico. That was it, the world had my full attention!! I was hooked.
When I was 10 years old, I had read a story about 3 women who crossed the country on horseback and I was so impressed, I began a dream of doing so myself.
Well, that has yet to happen.....but, in early spring of 1982 at the age of 21, I made my first of many journeys across the USA by way of driving a "Drive-away" from Boston to San Francisco with a girlfriend. Two seasons and too many deadheads later, I hitchhiked to the US Festival in San Bernadino and then back to NH to stay for almost a year.
On July 4th of 1983, while I sat on a mountaintop over looking the lakes region watching the fireworks and discussing dreams, goals and aspirations with the woman I had made that 100+ mile bicycle journey with, I shared my childhood dream of riding a horse across the country. When she responded with, "wouldn't it be cool to cross on bikes" I was inspired!!! Now that I had driven one route west and hitchhiked returning to the east, it seemed the intelligent experiential progression toward making my childhood dream come true. For the remainder of the summer and into autumn we trained; unfortunately she backed out in the end. So, on Oct 8, 1983 at the age of 22, I left NH again, this time alone, on my Motobecane Grand tour bicycle. (Do they even make them anymore? Tee hee!) When I arrived with $18 in my pocket I quickly applied for a job which turned out unknowingly, to be for a World class cyclist. You probably guessed it, needless to say, I got the job! Which led me to meeting my soul mate, who loved life and the outdoors as much as I did. He inspired me to go back to school and I inspired him to travel.
This led me to live the last 29 years of my life in CA. and one year in AZ. practicing old skills and learning new ones. Biking, rollerblading, summer and winter mtn. climbing (yes, I have summit-ed the 2 highest mtns, in southern Ca), running, swimming, skiing, skating, snowshoeing, learning tennis and soccer, billiards, scuba diving and surfing, and becoming a licensed masseuse and preschool teacher. I continued my travels through the USA and Canada, including 4 Hawaiian islands, (I have now been in nearly all 50 states). Then came Fiji, New Zealand, Australia, and China, where I trained at the Olympic training Center in Beijing in Tui Na and Acupressure. I have married, worked as a Massage therapist, a preschool teacher at both Mesa College and UCSD and done my share of real estate investing. But, my greatest pleasure and achievement has been; creating a life and raising a beautiful and intelligent daughter who is just turning 18.
Though I have to admit, I got a little lost in it.
My favorite experience traveling was; scuba diving for 4 days on the Great Barrier Reef and my favorite concerts were; The US Festival and The Wall concert in Berlin when the wall came down. Not only was this magnificent, it celebrated an event that affected the well being of my family abroad.
Now separated, menopausal and near childless, (she is far too busy for mom these days and I share her with her father as well) I am beginning a new chapter in life. I'm not as active as I used to be, age and injuries are catching up to me, and I have yet to fulfill my childhood dream. I am thinking of returning to school and I now have a new love; the internet (which I resisted for sometime, fear its immobilizing ya know). About the new chapter....
What better way than to invite other worldly people into my home. Hence, my recent hosting on Airbnb. I look forward to meeting others who want to take advantage of this really cool system built on trust in humanity, created by I don't know who but, I"m glad it exists. Happy travels to all!