• Kathe
Verifications
  • Email Address
    Verified
  • Phone Number
    (▒▒▒) ▒▒▒- ▒▒ 37
  • Reviewed
    22 Reviews
About Me
Work
retired RN
Languages
English
Kathe's Airbnb Symbol

Visit create.airbnb.com »

Kathe

Hey, I’m Kathe!

Asheville, North Carolina, United States · Member since September 2011
Report this user
You have reported this user. Undo?

I am a free-spirited world traveller. I spend my time between Asheville, NC and Jinja, Uganda, with frequent stops in my native Wisconsin to visit old friends. And occassionally a trip to NYC which I love to visit. I am involved in numerous volunteer and non-profit organizations with the goal of empowering the women of Uganda (and men) through various projects. Currently I am working on raising funds to build a wood fired brick oven which will provide training to individuals as bakers. Baking fresh affordable bread that can be made without the use of electricity which is often not available. I also have worked closely with an orphanage of 72 children providing a means to healthcare, maintaining a food supply and a sewing machine to repair and make clothes for the younger children. My original trip to Uganda was to evaluate a private hospital, but the only one in its region that serves a population of 450,000 people...since then we have had 3 very successful medical camps and are looking forward to the 4th one in Feb. 2012.

I like to read. I love to travel. I am an avid Green Bay Packer fan. In Feb. 2011 I watched the Superbowl live at 2:30 in the morning at a local restaurant/pub. Hope we can repeat that in 2012...if so I will be back in the same pub to watch it again. I spend a lot of time on my computer and occassionally play solitaire to help pass the time. When I am in Africa I miss salmon, football and talking to my children. Not necessarily in that order!

Because I am retired and living on a fixed income I decided to try Airbnb to recoup some of my living and traveling expenses. The work I do in Africa is as a volunteer so...
I am happy to share my space with people who enjoy travel and new adventures.

As a young woman I lived in Kyoto, Japan for 6+ years. I taught English as a 2nd language. I also taught "American" style cooking to 2 different groups of Japanese women. We roasted a turkey, made meatloaf, fruit cake at Christmas and other typically american food. After returning to the US, my husband and I decided it was time to start a family. I have two wonderful children. One married and living right near me in Asheville and one living in NYC.

In my 40's I decided that I needed a career that would give me the knowledge and training I would need to travel to Africa perhaps with Peace Corps when I would eventually retire. I chose to become a nurse. It was one of the best decisions I made. My husband of 37 years died in Dec. 07. Doors opened that I never anticipated...I headed straight through with head held high and embarked on a journey that I am still enjoying. My 1st trip to Uganda was in Feb.08. I now spend about half a year in Uganda and half a year in the States.

I am adding this last note after a rather disappointing experience with house guests.
I am an extremely tolerant person, but I would like to just say that when you stay in someone's home please treat it with respect. Airbnb is providing a great service and a wonderful alternative to expensive, cold hotel rooms like affordable, comfortable, personable space to relax and enjoy while away from home. Whether you choose to stay in my space or someone else's please clean up after yourself and leave it in the condition in which you found it. It is not a hotel and there is no maid service.

Thanks and enjoy!