• Gill
  • Email Address
  • Phone Number
    ▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒ 70
  • Reviewed
    10 Reviews
About Me
University of Birmingham
Independent Practice Assessor for Social Work students
Gill's Airbnb Symbol

Visit create.airbnb.com »


Hey, I’m Gill!

Kidderminster, United Kingdom · Member since September 2011
Report this user
You have reported this user. Undo?

We live in Kidderminster in the county of Worcestershire, which is just about as central in the UK as it's possible to get. We live in a terraced Victorian carpet maker's house. Kidderminster was once famous for it's carpets. My husband is retired teacher who used to teach severely handicapped children with behavioural problems in a hospital school. I am a retired Children and Families Social Worker who worked for the local authority for 25 years. The last 5 years I compiled lifestory books for children who were going to be adopted. These told the children about their birth families and what had occurred for them to be in the state care system and subsequently adopted. I now work part-time as an independent Practice Assessor with Social Work students from various universites and am a volunteer with Samaritans which is a UK listening service for people who are distressed or maybe suicidal. We have 3 grown up children. Suzy is a senior diabetes specialist nurse. She is married with 2 daughters aged 6yrs and 4yrs and a son born in June 2015. Her husband has his own business making craft ciders and perries. We have 2 adult sons currently living with us. Both have moved out - and then returned! Joe is rarely seen without his guitar and earns a living playing, when someone will pay him and working in the cider and perry business. Josh is a customer service manager for a medico-legal company. We have 3 Persian cats who rule the household.. I attend a buddhist meditation class, more for the calming effect than the buddhist teachings! John had two falls some years ago and managed to snap BOTH quadruceps tendons, resulting in mobility difficulties and the need to use a walking stick.
We are both interested in all history; John has a special interest in ancient history. We are also very interested in music, particularly folk, blues and any music that tells the story of a country and it's history and culture. We are both great readers and appreciate literature and poetry. We don't speak any language other than English (I'm embarrassed to say), except for a smattering of schooldays French.
We like to meet people and see places as they really are - not just how they are portrayed for the tourist trade, although we sometimes have to travel via package holidays for the purpose of economy. We enjoy tasting local food and drink and learning about local traditions. We hope people find us easy going and easy to get along with.