• Email Address
  • Phone Number
    (▒▒▒) ▒▒▒- ▒▒ 80
  • Facebook
    852 Friends
  • Reviewed
    9 Reviews
About Me
CUNY Graduate Center
American University
Salvador's Airbnb Symbol

Visit »


Hey, I’m Salvador!

Report this user
You have reported this user. Undo?

I am originally from Puerto Rico, hold a PhD in sociology, and teach at American University. (I mostly teach in the department of Sociology, but I also teach for Women's, Gender & Sexuality Studies.)

Why am I seeking rental? For a few years now, I have maintained a busy travel schedule in and out of Washington DC - so busy that I am often not in DC as much as abroad. As a result, some semesters I am housed and live in DC, and some semesters I travel constantly while on regular semester teaching. I have lived in DC before -- moved out of my place in 2011 to do research abroad, under a Fulbright. Depending on the semester, I am back every few weeks for teaching, meetings or a conference - and that's when airbnb becomes an important site for me.

I am talkative and enjoy conversations about DC: politics, policy, education, anything related to the humanities and the social sciences, international studies, communications/media/technology, and law (and for me, those conversations do not have to be academic). I tend to go out to the movies, eat out (love a Peruvian restaurant, Las Canteras, in Adams Morgan--check it out!) and walk through some of DC's fantastic neighborhoods whenever I have some free time. I of course read (and grade) a lot and enjoy a comfy sofa or chair to prepare classes (did I mention grading?). But I work from the office most of the time - won't be up in your space a lot ;)

Gay, seek gay friendly places. In terms of renting, the boundaries of DC proper tend to be a priority for me, as it allows mobility to work and visiting friends/engaging in social activities.

I am not a very 'loud' person, and enjoy quiet space, so I won't be the reason your neighbors will contact you (lol). I don't generally drink, and I do not smoke. I enjoy most social dynamics, people from all backgrounds, sexual orientations, nationalities, and religions. I don't expect a fancy place (but a clean one!) and prefer to have privacy (seek individual rooms or studios more than shared or open spaces), yet always welcome host company.

Since I travel a lot, i tend to seek reservations for a week or two at most. Sometimes just a couple of days only.

Feel free to ask anything - I might be missing the most obvious things a renter might want to know from me, so do ask away.