Verifications
  • Email Address
    Verified
  • Phone Number
    () - 85
  • Facebook
    987 Friends
  • LinkedIn
    Validated
About Me
School
Elmer L. Meyers Junior/Senior High School, King's College, The Catholic University of America
Work
stay-at-home mom
Hey, I'm Jen!
Los Angeles, California, United States · Member since August 2011

Hejsan!  My name is Jen, and I live near the ocean in sunny Los Angeles, California, with my husband and 2 small children. 

I'm an upbeat, somewhat quirky person, and I love having international friends.  I learn new languages for fun but don't speak anything fluently (besides English).  I've studied Spanish, French, Italian, Japanese, & German. 

My current obsession is learning Swedish, and I want to travel to Sweden next year for my 40th bday.

For several years, my friends and I would meet in a large group for dinner and learn a little in a new language every month - American sign language, Zulu, Dutch, Polish, Cantonese, Amharic, Xhosa, even British cockney rhyming slang.  Not that I remember very much, mind you!  :-)   But I love learning about other cultures, and I love people.  I am the human equivalent of Tigger - enthusiastic, happy, and friendly.

I always find a way to make my friends laugh, and I sometimes decide to plan elaborate events just to amuse myself. 

Once, I planned a huge Mardi Gras party for 700 people and rented out a 3-story nightclub in Downtown LA, complete with fire dancers and circus acts just for fun.  Another time, after hearing of an experimental theater production in NYC, I planned my own 24-hour "play-in-a-day" theater production in a 650-seat theater.  I live on a budget, but I believe you have to live the largest life you can.  :-) 

Despite being fairly extroverted, I also enjoy quieter activities - reading, writing, walking to farmers' market, going to the beach.  I'm happiest when I'm traveling the world, meeting new friends, and being in nature.

Ha det bra!

  • 1 Reference