Having received nothing but completely positive reviews for The Manse up to this point (some guests specifically noting their delight with the furnishings and decorating in person or via private feedback) it was a bit of a surprise to find your opinions here to be so generally less positive, David - especially given that you had approached us to manage your own upcoming Melbourne property listing, that you did not bring up any of these concerns with us personally before reviewing, was definitely unexpected.
I would just like to correct a couple of points. There is indeed a table and two chairs so I'm not quite sure why you would claim they don't exist, though we place them outside as we feel they are much more suited to the balcony as they are cafe-style. They can be brought inside if preferred, but we feel the interior space is a bit cramped with them, we could remove one couch to make room for this but you have been the only guest so far who has found this a problem.
We noted that the dryer was small in capacity, and not effective if overloaded - we never stated that it did not work, just that it needed to be used judiciously and would be very slow with a large load - we also provide a large foldable drying rack for more environmentally conscious guests (as well as iron and ironing board if needed), and with the large balcony space being so airy, this again has not previously been commented on as being an issue for any previous guests. We also noted that we were in the process of sourcing replacement towel rail / components as the previous guests that left the morning you arrived, had damaged it, and we apologised that it was in a more precarious state due to the fact we had only been alerted to this issue that morning and didn't have time to remedy it more sturdily before your stay. We would have expedited the replacement or removed the rail altogether if you had let us know it bothered you so much, but we tend to value guest's privacy unless they specifically let us know that something is an issue - which you did not. You mentioned only an issue with one window, which was fixed the day of your departure (and we appreciate you alerting us to this).
We have however, never in over four years of hosting on Airbnb had a guest request a potato peeler, so our apologies for missing this crucial kitchen item for you - it seems to be less crucial for others and we are unfortunately not able to anticipate all needs all the time. I'd also like to note that we really appreciate guest feedback and try as much as practicable to act on it - one of our previous guests for example requested a stovetop espresso maker, an extra stool and a picnic blanket - all of which we provided during his stay - and in fact we've just now added a full picnic basket set because we realised after the blanket suggestion that a picnic set is an ideal addition for any holiday accommodation in the area with all the lovely parks and beach nearby. But we really can't do much to increase a guests satisfaction during their stay unless they let us know before they leave, instead of in the reviews. While we do not act on all suggestions, realistic ones we are more than happy to, if we feel it will increase the amenity of the property for the majority of future guests and are within a reasonable budget, given the reasonable cost of stay we offer.
Finally, I do believe you might want to consider doing a little more research into the area and indeed the building - the apartment directly below The Manse is let for short term accommodation (as we had previously mentioned to you) - at over three hundred dollars a night. We could choose to upgrade all the furnishings and equipment to the exacting standard you expect - but we would need to raise our prices to close to this level to cover the costs of purchase. Our focus instead is to keep our prices reasonable and very competitive for the area and for the type of accommodation - and we've generally had glowing satisfaction from guests, because they assumedly do keep in mind relative value for money compared to other offerings currently available in the price range.