Thank you Alice -- I'm glad that you enjoyed the amazing location and quietness. I was happy to quickly respond to all of your requests and accommodate your early check-in time.
Unfortunately, not everyone likes all of the same kinds of mattresses, but I've never had a complaint about mine before. It's a Sealy Posturepedic Mattress with a Euro Pillowtop and has a firmness rating of 7 on the Sealy scale. It was an $800 luxury mattress, and is not an IKEA or economical mattress that is often found in other Airbnb's (in fact, it's the same mattress used by leading hotels).
With respect to the hallways in the apartment building, there was some temporary renovation work going on in the building during your stay, which unfortunately is not something I have control over as a host. All work has however been completed for 2015.
Since Alice's stay, I have overhauled and upgraded the apartment for 2015! There's all new paint in the unit, new pieces of furniture, new amenities for guests, and a host of other changes -- please see my complete listing for what is included, and of course, ask me any questions.
Regarding the price: I do not believe that it's possible to find something of equal location and size for even close to the price I'm offering. If anyone can find a hotel room in SoHo for less, I am happy to match the price!
Thank you, Karen. A pleasure to have you stay. I'm sorry that the heat was an issue -- I wish you would have said something during your stay! Unfortunately there was an unseasonably cold week of weather during your stay, which is before the building's hear was fully on. I can assure all guests that the heat is fully functional, but just in case, I have installed an additional space heater in case people like to feel an extra bit of warmth at night!
The apartment is larger than most NYC hotel rooms but it is a traditional NYC one bedroom; most guests find it perfectly comfortable for two people, and I am always upfront to those who have three in their party that it is probably tight.
99% of guests like to take advantage of the incredible food and restaurants NYC and SoHo in particular have to offer and make minimal use of the kitchen; I've provided a kettle and toaster as well as plates, bowls, cups, and silverware for basic meals. However, I will happily provide additional kitchen utensils upon request!
The apartment is professionally cleaned between every guest; if the condition of the apartment is ever below expectations, I provide guests with a second cleaning free of charge. I am sorry to hear that it was not to your liking, but again wish that you had said something during your stay and given me a chance to make it right. I'm not sure what you are referring to in the kitchen, but I can assure all guests that the place is clean; I have dozens of great reviews below indicating as much. Since you have left I haw had the place scrubbed down again!