If you need to cancel a confirmed reservation, it’s important to do so as soon as possible. Go to your reservations, find the reservation you need to cancel, and click Alter or Cancel. You should also contact your guest to apologize for the inconvenience.
When a reservation’s status is Canceled, you’ll be recorded as the party responsible for initiating the cancellation in our system. Because host cancellations require additional customer support, and generate additional costs for securing last-minute accommodations, the following actions are applied:
If you cancel before a reservation begins, your guest will receive a full refund and you will not receive a payout. If you cancel an active reservation, your cancellation policy will no longer determine your payout, and your guest will be fully refunded for every night that they did not stay in your space. You can make security deposit claims within 48 hours of the original checkout date.
You will not be able to have Superhost status if you cancel a confirmed reservation, unless it’s under extenuating circumstances.
If you need to cancel a reservation under extenuating circumstances, start by clicking Alter or Cancel on the reservation. Then contact us so we can see if we can waive the penalties. We can only mark a cancellation as made under extenuating circumstances if you report it to us within 2 weeks of the original check-out date.
If the situation is covered by our extenuating circumstances policy, we may elect to waive cancellation penalties. In that situation, the cancellation will not impact your search placement, nor will we block the dates of that reservation on your calendar.
If we retroactively mark a past cancellation as one made under extenuating circumstances, it may take a couple days for the Superhost section of your dashboard to update.