When you contact a host to ask them a question, the host has the option to invite you to book their place. A pre-approval is an invitation to book for the dates and price shown when you contact the host. A Special Offer lets the host customize the price and other details of the reservation before they invite you to book.
You'll receive an email notification when you receive a pre-approval or Special offer. You can also check your reservation status by looking in the message thread where you're communicating with the host.
Receiving a pre-approval or Special Offer is not a confirmation that your reservation is complete. You still need to finish booking the listing by adding your payment details and confirming the reservation details.
To book a pre-approval or Special Offer:
You'll then receive a confirmation email with your itinerary, as well as a billing receipt for your records.
Hosts can pre-approve multiple guests or extend multiple Special Offers for the same dates. The guest who books the offer first will confirm the reservation. If the offer has already been booked or if the host chooses to remove the offer, you will no longer see the option to book the reservation.