Palm Hale - Royal Palm Suite (3)

House - Private room · Queen Kalama Avenue, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740, United States

The Space

Wonderful house in a quiet neighborhood. Less than 2 blocks from Magic Sands Beach and Snorkel beach. One bedroom studio with a twin bed and a sleeper couch that makes into a queen bed, kitchenette (Sink,Microwave,Coffee maker for brewing the famous Kona Coffee,induction hot plate and utensils), Cable TV, WIFI, Full bathroom and a Closet. Coin operated Washer & Dryer in common room. There is a Gazebo with table, chairs and BBQ for grilling. Lots of private off street parking. Home is situated to catch the trade winds for that cooling breeze. Lush and tropical, you can even hear the waves crashing on the shoreline when the surf is up.
There are restaurants and shops along with places to schedule activities such as snorkeling or scuba diving with manta rays, going on a submarine ride, signing up for a Luau, going on a helicopter ride around the Island and over the Volcano, going on a charter for fishing big game such as Marlin, Tuna, Mahi, Ono and spearfish, along with many other activities in the ocean front town of Kona which is back in the direction of the Airport 4 miles. A short distance to the south (in the opposite direction of Kona approx. 1 mile) is Keauhou center which has a grocery store, drug store, post office, restaurants,medical facilities,theater and a farmers market on Saturday mornings.
There are two Transit systems that run and they both run along Alii drive making them very usable.
Kona has some of the most beautiful sunsets ever seen, in the evening you will see locals and tourists pulled over to the side of the road watching for the green flash as the sun slides over the horizon.
Rate includes Hi taxes of %13.42.

Guest Access

There is a washer and dryer for the guests and a bbq for grilling out in the yard.

Interaction with Guests

I am there for there arrival to make sure they get in and have everything they need. I am always available to answer any questions and help out with any needs that might come up.

The Neighborhood

We are in a location where 2 of the most popular beaches are with in walking distance of our place. We have Keauhou shopping center 1 mile south of us that has all of the amenities you need so that you don't have to go in to the rush of town unless you want to.

Getting around

There is Keauhou trolley that runs from Keauhou to Kona which passes by us. There is also a mass transit bus service that runs by that goes around the island.

Permit Number: W60031120-01

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 3
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Extra people: $10 / night after the first guest
Weekly Price: $440 /week
Monthly Price: $1400 /month
Security Deposit: $100
Cleaning Fee: $72
Check In: 4:00 PM
Check Out: 11:00 AM
Cancellation: Strict

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Check In
  • Had a very pleasant stay at David's studio in the house that is (to my understanding) completely rental. The studio was very clean, cozy and had pretty much everything that I needed. There was a women's bike that David let me use which was great without a car. Magic sands beach with a lovely heaiu is very close and the Keauhou shopping center (&Farmer's market) is an easy & fast access by bike or car. Kailua-Kona is also within a reasonable biking but not too close if you like to have a little more of peace and quiet. David is a very helpful host although I didn't see him much during my stay. All in all, good value for money and a great place!

    April 2014
  • I had a great stay at this large suite. The room is clean and well equipped, the bed very comfortable and the sound of the waves is really relaxing.
    The location is awesome, right next to the ocean and you can see the beautiful sunset by a short walk.

    Thank you for your host, David!

    March 2014
  • David was a wonderful host and made my first impression of Kona a friendly one. He went the extra mile by picking me up from the Hele-on bus stop and even took me through town for a quick tour of Kailua-Kona before dropping me off where I needed to be. The suite was clean, comfortable and is a beautiful place to stay right by the ocean - you can hear the waves from your bedroom and with many windows/screen doors, there's plenty of fresh air to be had. The wifi info and host recommendations provided in the suite were also very professional and helpful. A side note - it's about a 10 minute drive into town. The trolley runs about every 2 hours or so and at 2 dollars a trip, is a great way to sightsee Kona. All in all, the Royal Palm Suite is a great place to stay; it feels like a hotel with just the right touch of homeliness to it. I would recommend to anyone and would definitely stay here when I'm back in Kona!

    December 2013
  • I had a wonderful stay in Davids House. The apartment is sooo beautiful! you can hear the ocean by night. it' s located very close to two wunderful beaches. David was helpful in every way! he even offerde me a bycicle, which was great for the shorter distances. David is a great host and i will defenitly stay there again, if i have the opportunity to get back to Big island!
    thanks a lot!! Mahalo!!!

    November 2013
  • David's place is great.

    The apartment is really clean and big and the sea breeze coming in at night is cool (in every sense).

    I had a great stay here and would recommend it to anyone.

    Thanks David!


    November 2013
  • The location of this apartment is TERRIFIC. You can see the beach. It is a short drive down to various beaches and kayaking outfitters (Aloha Kayaks is EXCELLENT!!!). There is a local farmer's market at the Sheraton Hotel's parking lot on Wednesday and Sunday from 9-2pm. I loved it! I was in town for the Ironman Triathalon and spent the first week in a group vacation home in the mountains. Then I moved to Dave's Queen Palm Suite near the coast- he is very flexible and accommodating. I had to change my time of check in several times due to other schedule changes. Also I had to come back on my way to the airport and shower after a kayak ride and he let me keep my stuff there until 6pm. The Wifi worked GREAT and I was able to (website hidden) and stream movies. The refrigerator is small, but works well enough- there isn't much room in the freezer- maybe a pint of Ben&Jerrys? There is a coffee maker, toaster oven and microwave so it would be ideal for a week's stay- you can eat leftovers and keep snacks in the fridge. There is NO ELEVATOR- so if you have knee problems, get a place on the first floor where you only have about 5 steps to get in the front door. Check in and check out were simple, easy, common sense procedures. You do have to bring your own toiletries- there was only soap when I came and good thing I brought my own shampoo and conditioner! There are plenty of towels. There are some utensils and plates/cups. I don't think it would be very nice to cook there, but the facilities are certainly good for reheating and eating leftovers.

    Bottom line: Excellent value.

    October 2013
  • Had a great stay and the self contained unit was perfect. Two beaches and local shops within walking distance. Needed a car to be able to get to Kona and further afield. Thanks for having me David and sorry I didn't see you after the first day...I was off adventuring! :) I'll be back, hopefully soon!

    October 2013
  • David gave us a great deal @ the queen palm hale :-) The room was great! Open air! Birds singing! Nice amenities! Close to everything! You can walk to the beach!
    Cant wait to visit again!

    September 2013
  • Very good location close to the kailua kona town, turtle beach and magic sand beach. I had the one person suite with kitchen and a living space. it is super spacious and very comfortable bedding.
    David is welcoming and accomodating. Love the place.
    The only little problem is that it could get quite noisy when the gardening sprinklers start spraying quite early in the morning, like 6-7ish. But I guess that's not early for Hawaiian life. :)

    September 2013
  • Beautiful place, but some disappointment. kitchen with a pot only? no pan, no table to eat, no toaster. I did not understand this part ... and I think there is a possibility for a double bed over there . for the rest everything was perfect.

    March 2013
    Response from David:

    I am sorry about the confusion over the kitchen. It is only a kitchenette with microwave,toaster which was under the counter, coffee maker and full size refrig. There is a small counter with stool to eat from, or TV trays that were in closet. I did try to call you (person answering phone number I had for you didn't know you) , even knocked on door with no response and sent an email to make sure you were finding everything okay, but could never get a hold of you. I have always greeted our guests as they come in and get them familar with what is available, I am sorry that didn't happen due to communication misunderstanding. Hope you enjoyed our island. Mahalo, David Hamm

Per Month
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 28 times
San Clemente High School
Aloha! My wife and I moved here after having vacationed in Kona ourselves. The weather is warm and so is the water temperature year round. Kona is a community of good health, from all the out door activity's, both ocean and on land, and healthy eating. We both grew up on the coast of southern California which we thought was paradise. After having spent time here in Kona during the winter months we found that this was true paradise. We decided we wanted to be a part of the Island life. Now we have a place for others to come stay and find what we fell in love with. It has it all from fishing,snorkeling,hiking to exploring the volcanoes and water falls.
View full profile
Response Rate
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
2 weeks ago

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings