Skip to content
Private room in house

Laidback local living

Michelle

Laidback local living

2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
2.5 baths
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
2.5 baths

The space

A love of music, paddling, the outdoors and great food. Meet Nathan, Grant and I. Welcome to our home with timber beams, made-on-earth feel, and tropical courtyard. Yours is a double private room with park and district views

Nathan, Grant and I are renting our guest bedroom in our 4 bedroom, 2.5 bathroom home in Annandale.

Close enough to access the happening hearts of Sydney; far enough to enjoy taking time-out in our tropical courtyard.

Your room is upstairs, with a French window opening out to park and district views. It is spacious for two, is furnished with a comfy double bed, and has access to a double closet. The bathroom is next door, which you will share with one other. We’ll provide towels, basic toiletries and linen.

Our house is architecturally designed with exposed timber beams and a made-on-earth feel. Outside we have a tropical courtyard and bbq on one side. On the other sides we have fruit, veggies and herbs growing wherever we can get away with it.

The design allows for plenty of privacy if you need it. If you don’t, there are multiple common areas reflecting our diverse range of musical, literary and outdoor interests to share adventures. And with 2.5 bathrooms you’ll virtually never be left waiting!

The house is clean, whilst comfortable, and we strongly believe in living sustainably – we supplement our electricity with solar power, and we enjoy seeing our kitchen scraps compost and return to us in the form of vibrant produce from our garden.

This is your home for your stay. You’re welcome to use all areas of the house including full use of the kitchen and laundry. You can also supplement your cooking with whatever is in season from the garden!

We provide clean linen and towels. We have WiFi throughout the house.

Through our extensive travelling we have valued our Airbnb experiences as a real highlight. Now we’re at home, we’ll help you have a great experience in Sydney.

We all work full-time, but are easily contactable during the day, and will be in-and-out of the house in the evenings, depending on other commitments.

We’re happy to interact as much or as little as you would like. We are always open to speaking with you about your trip and share insights from books, guides, and our experience. We’ll help you with maps (Grant is a map-maker and self-confessed map geek) and the best way to get around.

We’d love to meet you and share a drink when you arrive, and tell you more about the area. We’re experienced in this style of travel and are conscious of your privacy, need of space, or interest in our place and ourselves.

Located in the Inner West, there’s always something happening in the neighbourhood.

We’re a 20min ride on the light-rail to the cbd and a stroll to the local Annandale cafe and restaurant strip. We have a great walk we love to do via the backways, byways and street art of the inner city to the buzz of Newtown’s King St.

There are several weekend markets nearby: Orange Grove Markets is a local farmers market with plenty of fresh produce and some crafts, Glebe Markets is filled with local art and clothing, and Rozelle markets focusses on 2nd hand goods.

We have a great café, Revolver, around the corner; and Annandale Village is up the road provided access to café’s, casual dining, supermarkets and chemist.

There’s a great foreshore walk nearby taking in views of Anzac Bridge and the Inner Harbour to the Sydney Fish Markets.

We’re keen hikers ourselves, and can provide plenty of information on bushwalks in the Blue Mountains, a great day trip from Sydney.

Our place is well serviced by public transport – both the bus, which connects to Central Station, and the Light Rail, that has stops at Darling Harbour and Sydney Fish Markets.

Access from the airport is via train to central, then light rail or bus to Annandale (typically 1hr) or a 30min by car (taxi or Uber), depending on traffic. We can provide more details upon your booking. If you have a car, on-street parking is available.

Amenities

Wifi
Kitchen
Laptop friendly workspace
Iron
Hangers
Washer

House Rules

No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for infants (Under 2 years)

Availability

16 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check-in
Value
Maxwell User Profile
Maxwell
July 2016
I absolutely enjoyed my stay here. Michelle and her house mates were extremely nice. When I first arrived, Michelle went over my itinerary with me and made suggestions. With her advice, my week long stay in The Sydney area was an 11 out of 10. Michelle also went out of her way to…
Katie User Profile
Katie
January 2016
Loved staying with Michelle, Grant and Nathan they were so welcoming and the room was great. Would definitely stay again, these are lovely people!!
Michelle User Profile
Response from Michelle:
Thanks Katie - we really enjoyed meeting you and Ben too!
January 2016
Adam User Profile
Adam
March 2017
We stayed with Michelle & Grant and their housemate Nathan for 1 month. We really enjoyed our stay here and would happily recommend to others. The room is very spacious, bright and airy with a wardrobe just outside the room. Bathroom is shared with Nathan; great shower and qualit…
Rodrigo User Profile
Rodrigo
December 2016
Michelle and Grant made me feel very welcomed. To be new in the city they explained me the places where to go and how to arrive. Their home was a very Cody place where to arrive and be.
Tristan User Profile
Tristan
August 2016
Was a very pleasurable stay. Michelle and her partner where very welcoming and was made to feel comfortable right away! Fully recommend if travelling to Sydney exceptional location close to the CBD.
Juan Pablo User Profile
Juan Pablo
August 2016
My stay was tops. I will never forget it. To see the sunrise towards Manly, scorting Grant & Michelle was superb! Thanks for sharing so many things with the Español. The best Aussies!!!!!
Tom User Profile
Tom
July 2016
I had an awesome time at Michelle's place and would recommend it to anyone

Hosted by Michelle

Sydney, AustraliaJoined in June 2013
Michelle User Profile
34 Reviews
Verified
Hi - I live in Sydney, Australia but have been lucky to travel to and live in all different parts of the world including Mongolia, the Cook Islands, New Zealand, and Malaysia to name some recent trips. You can usually find me out on the ocean on my outrigger canoe, but I also lov…
Languages: English
Always communicate through AirbnbTo protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
About the home
When you stay in an Airbnb, you’re staying in someone’s home.
This is Michelle’s place.
Michelle
Grant helps host.
Grant

The neighborhood

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check In

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check Out
You won’t be charged yet

Similar listings