Living room with viewEntry
Rio Pecos Adobe, Telluride CO
6 guests
3 bedrooms
4 beds
2.5 baths
6 guests
3 bedrooms
4 beds
2.5 baths
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
6 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

The space

Very unique, authentic, and comfortable Southwest style home with tremendous charm and warmth, 12 miles down San Miguel Canyon from the historic town of Telluride, Colorado. Telluride is home to a world class ski area, two film festivals, several music festivals including Bluegrass in the summer and Chamber Music and Blues Festivals in the Fall. Telluride offers a wide choice of restaurants and nightlife. Sit on the sunny decks or enjoy a fire in one of the 3 Kiva style fireplaces throughout the house in winter or fall. Cook meals on a beautiful six burner stove in a kitchen with a fireplace called The Rio Pecos Cafe. Fifteen minutes to Telluride and a half hour drive to Ouray Hot Springs. There is an on site caretaker who lives in a separate, private soundproof apt on a different level than the main house. He is there if you need him and invisible if you don't.

Interaction with guests

Someone is available to answer questions or help guests with any problems they might experience.


Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Bedroom 2
1 queen bed
Bedroom 3
2 single beds

Amenities
Kitchen
Internet
TV
Heating

Prices
Extra people $30 / night after 5 guests
Cleaning Fee $150
Security Deposit $1500
Weekly Discount: 11%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events

Please read house manual to clarify how to use and enjoy facets of the house such as stove, kiva fireplaces, furnace, etc.
House manual can be emailed after house is booked. No offense to any dog lovers, they're great! but the Rio Pecos doesn't allow pets.


Cancellations

Availability
3 nights minimum stay

39 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Carol User Profile
September 2017
Fabulous, Beautiful, Magical! Exceptional home to enjoy when we weren't at the Telluride Blues Festival. Well stocked kitchen (just no coffee, so bring your own) but all the spices, dishes, pots, pans, made it easy to cook when we were home. Gorgeous views from the decks, close to multiple parks along the river, 20-25 mins to downtown Telluride. We were given great instructions and suggestions from Greg the Caretaker, who also gave me tomatoes right out of the garden. Circular driveway made ot easy to get in and out of the property. The beautiful Western and Native Ameican art and artifacts, rugs, Kachinas were fascinating to see and appreciate. I would have loved to have more time there.. since we were only there in the morning, spending the rest of the time at the Blues Festival. Such a better value than the over-priced cookie cutter condos in Telluride or Mountain Village. I highly recommend the Rio Pecos Adobe to anyone looking to stay in a unique, artsy Southwest style home with heaps of character and comfort.

Lyn User Profile
August 2017
Really nice home overall, but with some issues. The biggest issue for me was that we thought we were going to a secluded home in mountains. Instead, the caretaker lives in the lower level unit of the home, and insisted on both a complicated physical handoff of the key, and a long winded tour of the house. Also, all of the next-door neighbors are less than a stones throw away. For a rural area of Colorado, these houses are close together. The house is comfortable on the inside. The Decor is funky and fun. He kitchen is great and very easy to cook in. There are three bedrooms, all of which are large enough. The furniture however is somewhat lacking. For example, none of the bathrooms have small wastebasket. Also, I found crackers jammed into the couch cushions. Also, the bottles and shakers in the extensive spice rack all were slimy from being too close to hot pans. Also, the porch chairs had melted into the tarps covering them (covered up while freshly painted? Or just unused?) Basically- the house is never really lived in, so it is missing some things. All in all it's a good place- I just thought it wasn't worth the price, unless you are jamming it full of people. I also hate all false advertising, such as calling this a pro wage house to yourself when it is not.
Ken User ProfileKen is a superhost.
Response from Ken:
Hi Lyn, So sorry you had a problem getting into the house earlier than you had arranged. We frequently leave a key for people who want to get in earlier but in both your email of 8/13 and in your conversations with Greg you stipulated that you would arrive in late afternoon. When you wanted to move that time forward on the same day of check in we tried to accommodate that request for you. I always try to do a basic walk through of the house with new guests to explain how to operate the original 1927 six burner stove and how to use the 3 kiva fireplaces in terms of opening the flues, etc. I'm sorry that you felt it was long winded. Days before you checked in, I explained that there is an onsite caretaker who lives in a separate, very soundproofed apt on a different floor than the main house. He is part greeter, part concierge and part local guide. So sorry you didn't see the wastebaskets in all 3 bathrooms. They were inside the bathroom cabinets, you just had to open the door. Travel Well ! Ken
August 2017

Kathy User Profile
July 2017
The house is everything promised and more; we appreciated the warm fireplace and wood already cut. The kitchen is very thoughtfully stocked and the beds wonderfully comfortable. Make sure to walk over to Angler for amazing food!

Blake User Profile
July 2017
You will not be disappointed!! This is a very beautiful and well maintained house outside of town a bit. If you are looking for a little room to stretch your legs and enjoy some peace and quiet then this is the one for you.

Marty User Profile
June 2017
Great space, and in a convenient location. Ken was as accommodating as anyone could ask for. Fully equipped with the amenities to make any stay, no matter the length, a comfortable one. This home helped make my first experience in Telluride a memorable one. Definitely, a return trip is in order.

Salva User Profile
March 2017
Great home in placerville. Quiet, original. Caretaker very helpful. Great value for money. Would repeat for sure.

Emily User Profile
March 2017
Ken's place was very welcoming and beautiful! We really enjoyed our stay here, and would definitely return again!

Los Angeles, California, United StatesJoined in March 2013
Ken User ProfileKen is a superhost.

I am a professional builder living part time in Los Angeles as well as Telluride, Colorado. I love the West, horseback riding, skiing, good food and wine, literature, pre-historic ruins of the Southwest and romps in the wild places. I have lived and traveled widely throughout the U.S. and feel Southwestern Colorado has more than its share of exquisite scenery.
When I built the house I tried to create a space that would reflect the tastes and culture of the Southwest. The house is part Trading Post and part Route 66 Diner.
It's always been a fun gathering spot for food and friends. I hope you enjoy it as much as I have.
Sincerely,
Ken

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighborhood

Similar listings