About this listing
Planning a trip to San Francisco? Then why not stay in the heart of the city in the historic Haight Ashbury district. Located in a classic 1907 Victorian building, we have a fully furnished studio with two private bedrooms (Rm #1 & #2) with a shared bathroom in the basement level which has been recently updated
Feel free to browse through the pictures to get a better idea, but here's a quick description:
- The basement apartment has two bedrooms and a good size kitchen/living room with a backyard view.
-Rm #1: 12 ft by 8 ft, a queen bed with a comfortable mattress.
Other items in the room: a small desk ,closet and TV with over 200 channels.
-WiFi internet access is also included. Username and password will be provided upon check-in.
-We allow pet in the room but please note that there is an extra $50 fee for pet owners beside the $50 general cleaning fee.
-LOCATION, Location, Location!! With Haight street literally being just a block away, there are never ending options for restaurants, pubs, shops, health food stores, boutiques & cafes
Extremely convenient public transportation: adjacent to 6 & 71 bus lines which take you straight down Market Street into the heart of San Francisco, also adjacent to the 43 bus line and two blocks from the 33 which takes you to the Mission District.
- Great food and bars! Across the street is Magnolia Gastropub and Brewery, and all less than 5 minutes away are: Squat & Gobble Cafe & Crepery, Pork Store Cafe, The Alembic, Hobson's Choice, and Cha Cha Cha.
- Many excellent grocery stores: Haight Street Market is 1.5 blocks away, Whole Foods is 5 blocks down Haight Street, and a new brand new Bi-Rite Store just opened up 8 blocks away.
- Boutique shopping galore: tons of specialty shops, thrift shops, and high end clothing stores right here on Haight Street.
-A post office is half a block away, so feel free to drop off a postcard to your friends/family on your walk to Haight Street.
-With its rich history, walking down Haight street is definitely an experience and gives you insight into why this was the heart of the Hippie movement! Diverse crowds and unique shops are all part of the experience.
-If you like to run/bike/or just enjoy being outdoors, you are in luck. Our house is a block away from the pan handle park. If you want the real deal, then just walk down three blocks and find yourself at the start of Golden Gate Park, where there are multiple museums (Academy of Sciences, Flower Conservatory, etc) and year around events. Always something to do here!
-If you are a fan of water, then a quick 15 minute drive away is the Pacific Ocean, where on warm and yes even cold weekends, people can be found lounging, surfing, swimming, etc!
-A bike rental place is a few blocks down, so this is another fantastic way to explore the city on a bike. You can put your bike in the back yard or the garage.
My wife and I live in the upstairs unit of the building. We are both working professionals and are home usually in the evenings. In case of Emergencies, we can be reached via the landline. The great thing about living on site is it allows us to address any questions/concerns you may have. We are both laid back and respectful. We have lived in this city for nearly 20 years, so we can help you with suggestions on places to visit, eat, etc.
Thank you for visiting our page! Don't hesitate to contact us if you have any questions regarding this listing. We look forward to having you stay with us.
PEACE. LOVE. HAIGHT.
-Ash & Margaret
Interaction with Guests
As mentioned earlier:
My wife and I live in the upstairs unit of the building. We are both working professionals and are home usually in the evenings. In case of Emergencies, we can be reached via the landline, since during the following hours 10 p.m.-7 a.m. we will not be available via cell phone. The great thing about living on site is it allows us to address any questions/concerns you may have. We are both laid back and respectful. We have lived in this city for nearly 20 years, so we can help you with suggestions on places to visit, eat, etc.
Yes! Walk up one block to Haight Street and you will find the many Bus lines heading to downtown or towards Ocean Beach. The beauty about being located centrally is the easy accessibility!
If you need to hail a cab, again, Haight Street has easy access to these!
Other Things to Note
There is a coin operated laundry in the building
Preferred check-in time around 5 P.M. No loud music after 10 P.M. No smoking allowed. Check out 11 AM. We would appreciate if you could call me ahead on my cell (phone number hidden), the time of your arrival and departure. Please be respectful of other guests and maintain peace at all times. Please let us know if you have any issues, problems and any concerns by calling or texting right away. Thank you and hope you enjoy your stay.
The room was adequate and both husband and wife were very welcoming. Location is great and very easy to get just one bus into downtown if you so wish!
Didn't get a chance to meet him, but he communicated well and the place was in a perfect location for us. No complaints.
Let me start off by saying I have stayed in multiple Airbnb's before staying in Room #1 at Ashir's house. I have always had fantastic experiences with zero complaints. Unfortunately, this time was NOT a pleasant experience. The problems started when I asked if it would be possible for us to drop our bags off when we arrived in San Francisco even though I knew the room wouldn't be ready. We had to ask twice before they reluctantly agreed. (Again - with my other airbnb experiences dropping my luggage has never been a problem!) The same problem occurred on our final day when our flight was not until 8 pm. We asked to store our bags but were happy to be out of our room at checkout time. We were told this would not be possible so my friend and I had to lug our bags around San Francisco for an entire day of our holiday. (Tip - We eventually found a hotel downtown called "The Chancellor" which let us check our bags there for the afternoon). This whole ordeal caused a lot of stress. If your flight times do not correspond EXACTLY with Ashir's checkin/out times - do not stay here.
When we got to the suite we were disappointed. It was NOT CLEAN. The bathroom was really poorly maintained. There wasn't even a shower mat and so the floor of the entire bathroom got soaking wet whenever someone took a shower. (Tip - Shower shoes needed). The bathroom is also shared with the other guests in Room 2. In addition, we noticed an entire piece of gum stuck to the doorframe of our room! The towels and bed linens were old and frayed.
For students on a budget, this place may still work for you, but for anyone looking for a place where they can relax and feel comfortable I would not recommend it. The only great thing about this place was the location.
I am sorry for your experience staying with us. It would have been helpful to you and to us if you had checked with us about your early check-in ( 8:30 AM) and late check-out (4 PM) BEFORE you actually booked our room. We would have told you that it was not possible and you would have been able to find another place suitable to your needs. We try our best to accommodate our guests needs but sometimes it is not possible. We have had over 500 reviews from our guests who stayed in all our listings and 99% of them were very happy and satisfied with our place, with its upkeep and with our hospitality. Speaking of which, my wife came down to your room late in the evening to help with the cable TV on the first day. We keep the place clean and tidy always as reviews bear out. We did not notice any gum on the door frame. A picture of the gum would have been helpful.
This space was in a great location right around the corner from Haight/Ashbury. Plenty to do in the means of nightlife if thats what you are looking for. Also, several open space and parks surround the area. Parking is quite a hassle, as it is with anywhere in the city. Its important to note that the actual room is downstairs on a garden level with no windows and nothing very aesthetically pleasing about it. However, if you aren’t planning on spending much time in your room, this is a great spot just to use as home base at night and in the morning.
Das Zimmer ist zwar in diesem Haus, aber im unteren hinteren Keller. Es ist etwas grösse als das Bett und ohne Fenster. Für unser Geschmack ist es zu stark parfümiert.
Nachdem wir es gesehen haben, sind wir gleich wieder gegangen ohne das Zimmer zu benutzen. Wir waren sehr enttäuscht.
Wir konnten uns im Nachhinein nicht vorstellen, dass die Feedbacks der anderen Gäste echt waren. Der Unterschied schien uns zu krass. Leider haben wir uns auf diese bei der Buchung verlassen.
Our stay at Ashirvadam’s appeared to be one big deception: our 3x3m room was more like a cupboard-for-brooms than a B&B-room. Minimum comfort, worn-out bed linen and towels being a mish-mash. Kitchen, shower, and toilet were absolutely unclean; tableware and cutlery seemed to be bought in a garage-sale.
On arrival at 4 p.m. Ashirvadam reprimanded us for being an hour early; then and during our two days stay he behaved hostile and so not hospitable. We experienced Ashirvadam as an cheap leech who should work for Airbnb. In fact, his service and the room was so woeful that we stand up to complain about this.
I am sorry for your experience and surprised by your review. Our listing clearly describes the measurements of room 1 and it being in the basement. I am sure you would have read the description before you booked it or may be not because you only booked for one guest knowing well that you were two people. May be you got upset because I asked you to pay for the extra guest and the $10 per night parking fee I charge my guests who use my driveway. We charge $69 for this room-being the smallest. We have had over 500 reviews for all our listings including nearly 100 from this listing. As you can see and read, 99% of the reviews were great in that guests were happy and were satisfied by the price, the place and our hospitality. And you should know, that I went out of my way to accommodate you both at check-in and check-out time as your were early both times and I had to move my car to make way for you to park in my drive-way and pull out from it when you were leaving. I will leave the readers of this review and my response to decide as to who I am, what kind a place I have and what kind of service I provide.
Ashir was very welcoming and made sure we made it to his place, even though we flew in late. The accommodations met all of our needs. It was very nice to have a kitchen area to use! Thank you Ashir!
This host has 420 reviews for other properties.View Other Reviews
About the Host, Ashirvadam
I live in the building with my wife. I work as a hospice chaplain and my wife a teacher and we both work in the city. Our two adult children are studying medicine on the East Coast. I love getting to know new people, love traveling, enjoy cooking spicy Indian food for my family & friends, love watching sports on TV and listening to music on the radio. I love helping people in their most vulnerable times and that is why I am a hospice chaplain. My life's motto is 'life is an adventure-live it to the fullest while you have it'....