Bunk-Bed Heaven: By SXSW, Downtown

House - Private room · Josephine Street, Austin, TX 78704, United States
Katherine
Your host, Katherine
4 Reviews
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The Space

If you'd like to experience the flavor of really living in Austin, Texas, stay with us! We love Austin, and we want to make sure you have a terrific time too. We host women visitors, or groups including women. Great location: Conveniently walk, bike, catch a bus or cab or pedicab to Downtown, Zilker Park, music venues, Convention Center. (All 10-30 min, away - walk or bike through park and along river.)

This bedroom offers twin bunk beds, which have extra-comfortable mattress toppers. Room also contains long white Elfa desk and bookshelves (with books) and antique pine armoire. Room is carpeted and decorated in shades of blue; bathroom is right beside it. Fresh towels and linens for each guest.

For larger parties, inquire about 2 other affordable bedrooms available in this house, or see "My Other Listings" in right column.

Enjoy a light breakfast, free Wi-Fi, and tips and assistance from your onsite hosts (we will be staying in the master bedroom.)

Walking distance to Zilker Park (Barton Springs Pool, canoe/kayak rentals, greenbelt hiking), the hike-and-bike trail on Lady Bird Lake, and Auditorium Shores (concerts). The Zilker neighborhood is beloved for its funky Austin character. Many restaurants (Mexican breakfast around the corner), fun bars, local brew pub and BBQ joints, and live music venues a short walk away, plus bike rental shops (recommended!) right in the 'hood.

The house is furnished with character (Pottery Barn meets IKEA meets antiques) and good art, and we are nice folk who will make your stay comfortable. Run a load of laundry, use the kitchen, relax outside on the furnished screened porch and patio, ask for anything you might need. (We're happy to leave you alone as well.) Make friends with Eddie (woof) and Kiki (meow) and you can even borrow our guitar and keyboard.

Other Things to Note

City permit # 2014-021168 OL. 15% hotel occupancy tax due by cash or check, at time of check-in.

Room type: Private room
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 2
Beds: 2
Minimum Stay: 4 nights
Security Deposit: $200
Cleaning Fee: $30
Check In: 4:00 PM
Check Out: 1:00 PM
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Strict
Pet Owner: Dog(s) and Cat(s)

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • Katherine (email hidden) when we stayed with her for ACL. She helped me fix my bike and was very gracious!

    October 2013
  • Katherine was a GREAT hostess. She is very knowledgeable about the area and was thoughtful in contacting us throughout our stay with possible issues with taxis, airports, etc. (we were visiting for SXSW). The rooms were very clean (we were lucky enough to book two) and the entire home is very warm and welcoming. We would love to come back again next year!

    March 2013
  • Katherine was an incredibly generous and accommodating host and we were made to feel really welcome in her gorgeous home. We stayed here during SXSW and Katherine was able to share some really helpful tips about the festival and local neighbourhood too.
    An absolutely fantastic stay and couldn't recommend more! We were sorry to have to leave!

    March 2013
  • This is Austin! I enjoyed Texas life with nice host, Katherine. She has so open-mind. She made me comfortable and teach me some places in Austin. That was cool.

    전형적인 미국 텍사스의 가정집이에요. 친절한 주인분이 잘 맞이해 주셨구요. 오스틴에서 가볼만한 곳도 알려주셨답니다.

    March 2013
Per Month
From
$100
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 6 times
School
University of Texas at Austin, New College of Sarasota FL
Work
Communications Consultant
About
I've lived in Austin for over 20 years, and I have a lot of local knowledge that I enjoy sharing with guests! I have covered community issues as a journalist for the Austin Chronicle, and worked at the City of Austin. As a writer, I have reviewed local restaurants and covered local issues and politics and environmental topics. I love live music, and getting out into nature, and I attend our Austin City Limits and SXSW festivals, I have two children, 19 and 14, who may also be around and serve as co-hosts.
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within an hour
Calendar Updated
4 weeks ago
Similar Listings