The Private swimming PoolSwimming pool and outside terrace
Ubud Rice Field views and a pool
Ubud Rice Field views and a pool

Entire home/apt

3 guests

1 bedroom

2 beds

Please set the number of adults.
Please set the number of children.
Ages 2 - 12
Please set the number of infants.
Under 2
3 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

This lovely private house in the midst of the rice fields, located only 10 minutes from Ubud centre. The house is not shared and the pool is fully private as well, there are no neighbours wall to wall with the house.

The space

This house was built 2012, by Ketut and his family its a fully private, renovated two storey house, overlooks the pristine Rice Fields of Penestanan only 10 minute drive from central Ubud.
Its house surrounded by nature, which means insects, bugs, snakes, mice and so forth are part of it living in the surrounding rice fields.

Decorated with beautiful wood furniture, double bed on the top floor, wardrobe, small table and a balcony to watch the sunsets.

We are renting the whole house (not just a room) and the swimming pool with it fully private and only for the house guest.
This is place for those looking to disconnect, to get their creative flow running, a place for lovers of Nature and want to be close to it.

The house has two floors, the stairs leading to the top floor, can be a challenge for people who have a walking difficulty, or small children.

Downstairs has a day bed for for one more person, either an adult or a child.
A large dining table with bench seating.
A fully equipped kitchen.
An outdoor shower and an enclosed separate bathroom is to be found downstairs.
With a porch outside and a plunge pool in the garden.
The House has no immediate neighbours giving it nice privacy but yet close to Ubud center, Penestanan hub, where you can get all you need, restaurants, cafes, local shops and the larger super market and Sayan Terraces by Ayung River.

If you are a light sleeper you might want to be made aware that Roosters are a common property of each house in Bali, and these tend to make noise at the early hours of the morning, you might want to carry earplugs with you.
They are not part of Ketuts house but rather the nearby houses.
Feel free to contact me for more information about the house.

There is not really an official public transport to Ubud, best is to rent wheels (scooter, bicycle or a car) if you frequently want to visit Ubud. Or ask Ketut to arrange a Taxi. (around 5 USD to town) If you are a keen walker Ubud is about 30-40 min walk away. Penestanan is the nearest neighbourhood, only 10 min walk from the house.

Guest access

Private Swimming Pool (not shared with any other house holds)
The house is private with walls around it
We rent the house not the rooms!

Interaction with guests

Ketut who is the owner and host during your stay will check you in and be available for any questions you might have.
Kadek is the cleaner who comes every day.

Other things to note

If you are easily disturbed by sounds, you might want to bring earplugs as natures "music" in Bali can be loud, frogs, roosters, and dogs are common around the villages.

The space
Accommodates: 3
Bathrooms: 1.5
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Check In: Anytime after 12PM (noon)
Room type: Entire home/apt


Extra people: No Charge
Security Deposit: 200
Weekly Discount: 14%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 12PM (noon)

Please note that if we are booked the same dates as your departure we kindly ask you to to check out by the latest 12 noon, in order for us to clean for the next guest.

If you enter after a guest checks out please be advised that we need two hours to clean. though checking in at noon is all good, as long as you understand that we need time to clean :-)

We require a deposit of 2 mil IDR if you stay for longer then 1 month.



Cancel up to 7 days before your trip and get a 50% refund. Cancel within 7 days of your trip and the reservation is non-refundable.

1 night minimum stay

107 Reviews

Check In
Juliette User Profile
July 2017
Ketut is absolutely adorable ! He was always answering our questions and very helpful and kind ! The place is great ! It is in a beautiful place in the middle of ricefield but if you want to go to ubud a scooter is necessary ! Andrea was not really helpful with us and not present at all during our stay ! But Ketut is great ! One more thing : if you don't like noise this place is surrounded by nature so be aware of the frogs, ducks and chicken ! Oh and the pool is amazing and like on the picture !

Danny User Profile
July 2017
We loved staying at Kerkut's place. Being in the rice fields from where you could watch the kites was great. Kerkut organized us two motorbikes as well as an island tour in a car. We highly recommend this place, especially if you want a more authentic experience of Ubud.

Max User Profile
June 2017
Negative points: HOT WATER WAS NOT WORKING. Whenever we switched on cold water, heater stopped working. So we had to choose: getting burnt of freezing. Ketut (the owner) was really bad in managing the issue. I also had to spend so much of my holiday time to deal with it. The outdoor shower was one of the reasons I chose Ketut's place. It was so disappointing that we were not able to take proper showers during our 3 night stay. I believe it was fair asking for a discount on the 3 nights as the problem was major to us (we paid 290€). Ketut did not accept anything. He even implied that I was lying about the issue (although he apologized later). Turned out that he and his "technician" were not looking at the issue correctly. Another thing. I don't understand comments saying the place is clean (or it really deteriorated with time). It is dirty (and I can share pictures with whoever wants). Curtains and mosquito nets were really dirty, smelly and dusty. I do understand that it is a traditional house. However, "traditional" does not mean that the place needs to be dirty and dusty. Roof is not well treated (I can compare with my stay in an amazing bungalow with exactly the same roof). The wooden table is also horrible (not well treated) so should be removed from the room as it attracts ad contains bugs. I paid 290€ for 3 nights. I'm sorry Ketut, but at that price, "traditional" or not, the house needs to be super clean. The first door (entrance to property) cannot be locked. Ketut was not advising us when he would get in. He also let a "technician" and cleaner (sent after my complain) enter the house without advising us... Cleaner was throwing away stuff we left on the table. I don't mean to accuse anybody of theft, but 3/4 of my mom's underwear (?!) went missing. They were in a plastic bag, so the cleaner may have thrown them away. We are really disappointed on the price / quality return. Positive points: Scenery, swimming pool, garden are more than amazing. It's a private place and you can really enjoy your time. It is surrounded by nature. Something other places can hardly offer. If you don't like bugs, frogs, spiders, ants (that bite), etc., this place is not for you. Also, roosters, frogs and dogs are making a lot of noise so it can disturb your sleep (it did not disturb mine). I don't find the place difficult to find if you are using (SENSITIVE CONTENTS HIDDEN) map. Without considering the above issue, Ketut is a nice person. He is ready to arrange many things for you: motorbike, massage, transportation... prices are good.
Andréa User Profile
Response from Andréa:
Hello Max, Thank you for your feedback. As to pint out there are a few factors here. 1. You stayed at the house during one of the major holidays in Indonesia, Idul Fitri, where many shops are closed , workers travel back to Java to be with their families, and getting anything done during those days is near to impossible, I am not sure if Ketut did inform you about this, But this is a fact. 2. The cleaning, we thank you for the feedback and I believe Ketut has now taken action to improve on this. 3. Sorry about the loss of your personal items, as you already guesed I would say it was indeed an accident. 4. You did not pay 290 USD for your stay for 3 nights you paid 60 USD per night! and for a private house which sleeps 3 persons with a private swimming pool, I think it would be hard to beat that price. Though yes lack of cleaning is not justified with the price by any means, 5. Ketut owns a self catered house, service is not 24 hours hence he was not always reachable which I hope you can find reasonable. Thank you for the feedback which we see as constructive and Ketut and his family surely will take care to make sure all points are noted, and improved Wishing you continuos good and safe travels
June 2017

Sean User Profile
March 2017
The host canceled this reservation 33 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

Peter User Profile
March 2017
Ketut' place is a very nice private villa exactly as shown in the pictures and the description. It is very private and having the pool to take a dip in after a long day was great. Ketut is such a nice, warm hearted guy and so very helpful. The location is away from the town of Ubud so it's very quiet and peaceful there, yet just a 15 minute scooter ride from town. Logistics are key: Ketut drove us to town to get scooters and we hoped a taxi back after dropping them off late evening our last day. The location is a bit challenging to find but very doable once you learn the landmarks. Ketut is available to assist with directions to drivers, etc.. We arranged a rental car to be dropped off at the villa the morning of our checkout, gaven them general location & Letut's phone number and rhe car was delivered on time and without any difficulty. I definitely recommend staying here and we would do so again if back in Ubud.
Andréa User Profile
Response from Andréa:
Peter happy to read your experience at Ketuts house was a positive one, he sure knows how to host his guests I think its in the Balinese nature ;-) we too hope to see you back one day. Until then safe travels
March 2017

Kassidy User Profile
January 2017
Our stay at this gorgeous home was absolutely wonderful... we never wanted to leave! The house itself is beautiful and clean, the pool and backyard is a perfect, quiet place to relax and chill with lush, colorful vegatation surrounding you, and the view of the rice terraces from both the large wooden deck and backyard is serene! This house is quiet and a bit secluded from the loud town but still very very close to it by moped or car! Ketut is an amazing host and so helpful! His drivers Koming and Karma were also the nicest people! If we are ever back in Ubud, we will 100% be staying here again! Families, backpacking trips with friends, solo, it doesn't matter what kind of travel you are on, I HIGHLY recommend staying here!

Nerrida User Profile
January 2017
What a wonderful place to stay! We absolutely loved our 2 week stay. Let's start with the couple of things to be aware of: 1. The noise .... if you don't like the sound of roosters in the morning (which we didn't mind at all) or of dogs barking sometimes at night (not quite so enjoyable), bring earplugs. 2. The house is a little way from Ubud... not so easy to walk into town. However, having said that, Ketut can organise a scooter for you (the best option in my opinion) and then it is easy and fun to get around). If you don't want to ride a scooter, Ketut can organise a car or someone to pick you up on a scooter (the cheaper option if you are on your own). 3. If you are looking for a 5 star resort, this isn't it. The house is simple, though it has everything you need, with a couple of nice extras like the pool and air conditioning. Having said all of that ... we loved it and would definitely go back. The house was simple but beautiful, with air conditioning in the bedroom (essential) and a wonderful upstairs balcony. We sat there every evening and watched the sun set over the rice fields (whilst drinking a Bintang). The pool is wonderful and very private.... so if you don't want to wear your swimmers .... you don't have to. The garden is walled and the gate locks. Ketut's family were very sweet and Ketut very helpful. He even came in one day with some Balinese food for us as a gift (very yummy). It was wonderful to watch the women making offerings and praying at the little temple at the bottom of the garden. We were there for Christmas and New Year's Eve. New Year's Eve was great fun, I celebrated with some of the locals in the street. There were fireworks going off all over the place. We loved our stay. If you want a bit more of a local, authentic experience (off the tourist trail), this is it. Add in the pool, aircon and reasonable price .... this makes for an excellent holiday accommodation choice.

This host has 2 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Hi my name is Andréa.
Ketut is the owner of the Ubud Rice field view house, he is a Balinese friend who has little knowledge (next to none) about internet, hence makes it hard for him to advertise outside Ubud, so volunteered to help him out as this is something I have done for the past 10 years, running my holiday letting agency in Barcelona.
I simply take care of reservations, and once you arrive to Ubud you are in great care of very capable and friendly host Ketut.
Ketut has worked on cruise ships for many years and has vast experience in customer service.

He is renting out his place for those looking to disconnect, to get their creative flow running, a place for lovers of Nature and want to be close to it.
So far no one has been disapointed.

Languages: English, Español, Français, Magyar, Svenska
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

Similar listings