Franks Cottage Mayo Holiday Home

House - Entire home/apt · Cloonlumney, Ballaghaderreen, Mayo, Ireland

A cosy 2 bedroom rural cottage, close to Knock Airport with all modern conveniences including WiFi. Two lovely donkeys will welcome you to the cottage!

The Space

Are you looking for a quiet, relaxing break in the countryside in the West of Ireland? Rustic, but with all modern conveniences? Then look no further!!

Frank's Cottage is a traditionally styled cottage but modernised to make your stay comfortable and welcoming! The sitting room is the heart of this home with wood panelled high ceilings and the wood burning stove - heated with turf from our own bog! You enter the smaller of the two bedrooms from here - with its two single beds this room still maintains the traditional feel. From the sitting room you enter the modern country kitchen with seating for 6 and a fully equipped kitchen. While having your breakfast, you can look out into the fields and watch the donkeys playing! The Double bedroom is accessed through the kitchen and this is a large room with plenty of wardrobe space and room for an extra single bed or toddler bed (upon request). The utility room connects the kitchen with both the back door and the large shower room (with electric shower). There is a washer/dryer in the utility room as well as cleaning supplies.

The cottage is located in a quiet, rural area, 5 miles from the neighbouring towns of Charlestown and Ballaghaderreen. Sometimes the only noise is the sound of farm animals and birds chirping!

There is no public transit within walking distance, so a car is a very good idea.

One of the best loved aspects about Frank's Cottage are the two very friendly donkeys who are sure to give you a big, warm welcome!

We normally try to greet our guests but because our check in is flexible we may not always be home ( or awake!) when guests arrive. We will have as much or as little contact depending on what each guests want! We live next door to the property

PETS

We love our pets and do try to facilitate guests who wish to bring their pets on their holiday. We will consider your pets, as long as you agree that they do not enter the bedrooms and are housetrained. Please let us know that you would like to bring a pet. An extra cleaning fee of €25 per week or €5 per night is added to cover the cost of cleaning, as we want to make sure that the cottage is pet hair/smell free for our next guests who may or may not be pet lovers!

DISCOUNTS AVAILABLE:

*Families with young children staying more than 2 nights - please indicate the number of children and their ages to apply for this discount
*Guests staying 3-5 nights maybe given a discount off the nightly rate.

Interaction with Guests

We normally try to greet our guests but because our check in is flexible we may not always be home ( or awake!) when guests arrive. We will have as much or as little contact depending on what each guests want! We live next door to the property

The Neighborhood

I love the peace and quiet! There is a small river at the back of the house and lots of fields where the donkeys and horse graze.

Getting around

The Bus Eireann bus stops in Carracastle village twice a day, but in Ballaghaderreen and Charlestown, which are each 8km away, the bus is more regular.

Room type: Entire home/apt
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 5
Bedrooms: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 4
Extra people: $7 / night after 2 guests
Weekly Price: $427 /week
Monthly Price: $1280 /month
Check In: 4:00 PM
Check Out: 12:00 PM (noon)
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Strict
Pet Owner: Dog(s), Cat(s), and Other pet(s)

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • We had a lovely night here. The turf fire in the woodburning stove kept us warm, the donkeys and horse kept us company, and the hospitality kept us feeling welcome.

    April 2014
  • The owners seem to be very friendly people but regarding the property, it surely isnt the cleanest place we stayed in as there were dirty cotton buds under the sofa... And yes we did arrive late but than spent an easy two hours looking for the cottage as it does not have any postcode and is close to impossible to find.. The kitchen was nice snd spacious. The rest was fine

    March 2014
    Jc
    Response from Jc:

    Owen we pride ourselves on the cleanliness of te cottage and spend hours cleaning after guests leave. In your case we spent an extra few hours due to the smoke and general untidiness. Ireland does not have postcodes anywhere. On out listing we include detailed directions and the gps to make it easier for guests to find. We also offer to meet guests in the local town if they give us an arrival time. Had you communicated your arrival time in advance we would have gladly met you. In fairness we did come and meet you at the pub at midnight do you could follow us back to the cottage. Rural Ireland can be very difficult to navigate which is why we try to go above and beyond in assisting our guests find the place. We are convinced that this will be well worth it and they will enjoy their rural retreat is the quiet Irish countryside.

  • Our stay at Frank's Cottage was great!! The cottage was straight out of a movie set in rural Ireland!! So sweet and quite spacious. The kitchen was fantastic and I loved puttering around in there - I wish we had more than one night though to explore the area. Thanks to Judy for recommending a pub in the village for dinner as we arrived quite late. It is a very rural property but the directions given were spot on and we didn't have any difficulty finding the cottage. The fireplace was our favourite part of the cottage - just gorgeous. If we are in the vicinity I will definitely stay here again for sure!

    March 2014
    Jc
    Response from Jc:

    Thanks Rachel for your lovely review and we are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We would love to welcome you back at some stage in the future, hopefully for a longer visit!!

  • Beautiful cottage in the Irish countryside. Fire on in the stove when we got there. Friendly host showed us everything. Excellent kitchen and comfortable bedrooms. Look forward to staying there again.

    March 2014
  • We only stopped in for a quick stay, 1 night, but it was lovely!
    A bit cold at first, and it actually started snowing, but there are plenty of blankets and the fire was very cozy.

    Really wish we could have stayed longer, as we all really enjoyed the night. And in the morning the donkeys came out to say hello before we left which was probably my favorite part!

    Thanks for everything Judy!

    February 2014
    Jc
    Response from Jc:

    Thank you for your feddback! We have provided an electric heater, electric blanket and a warm fire in addition to the central heating which is on a timer. Sometimes when guests arrive, it is before the heating has kicked in which may feel a bit cold. We are always willing to adjust the heating so that guests are nice and toasty, just let us know :) So glad the donkeys were accomodating, they do love guests!!

  • Judy and Frank were excellent hosts! I would highly reccommend staying at their cottage to anyone. The cottage was a fun time and the fire place warmed up the place very well!

    January 2014
  • The cottage is really lovely. Great new facilities - bedroom, bathroom, lounge, kitchen, and laundry. The DVD payer, after 30 days on the road travelling, was great inclusion just relaxing and watching a movie in our own space.

    Our overall experience was clouded by the difficult in locating the premises, based on directions provided. Strongly recommend that visitors arrive in daylight as the cottage is difficult to find at night.

    January 2014
    Jc
    Response from Jc:

    Thank you for the lovely review. We know that it can be hard to locate us at night due to the rural location. We have detailed directions on the page as well as GPS. In addition, we also offer to meet guests in the local village or town whichever suits and we are more than willing to do this as there is nothing worse than getting lost in a strange country!!

  • We visited Franck's cottage in Mayo in December 2013. We were 4 people travelling with a 4 months baby and we stayed for 4 nights around New Year's Eve. The place was just as described on the site, very quite, nice and cosy. It is located in the middle of the countryside so if you are looking for silence you won't be disappointed! Nevertheless, I would highly recommend visitors to have their own car as the cottage is a bit far from everything. We rented a vehicule previous to our arrival so it did not cause any trouble to us.

    The cottage is very well furnished and I want to thank again our hosts who provided everything we needed to take care of our baby (baby cot, baby bath...). As we came during the winter, temperatures were rather low outside and it was a bit cold inside. The good thing is that there is a nice stove in the living room with a huge stock of turf so in the end it was OK.

    We really had a good experience with our stay and we would have liked to make it last a little longer!!

    January 2014
  • The cottage was very cozy and nice and it has been very easy to explore the west coast from there. It has been very nice to coming back after a long day to the cottage having dinner besides the fire.
    Also Judy and her husbands were an excellent hosts.

    November 2013
    Jc
    Response from Jc:

    Thank you Sergi! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you soon again!

  • We enjoyed our stay in the big own flat. You really have everything there - from toaster untill washing machin! It was clean and we felt confortable. We only advise to have an own car as it is really on the country side. Seamus and Judy were so kind to give us a lift. The only "bad" experience we had was with the taxi driver, when we went back to the bus station to carlestown. For a less than 15 min drive he wanted 25 euros what we think is a little bit expensive. But the accommodation was great. :)

    October 2013
    Jc
    Response from Jc:

    Thank you for the lovely review. We are very sorry to hear about your experience with the taxi driver and will contact him about this. I think the difficulty is that he came from Ballaghaderreen and was proabably charging from his starting point but am not sure. We will get some other taxi drivers to recommend in the future. We hope to see you again sometimes!

Per Month
From
$78
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 206 times
Languages
English
About
Hello and welcome to our holiday home! We are a family who work full time, but enjoy offering the cottage in our spare time, epsecially now that our children are getting bigger. We are looking forward to the experience of meeting new people through airbnb. This cottage is part of my husband's homeplace and has been in his family for over 200 years!! We decided to use it as a holiday home to generate income to put our children through college. I've added a few things to the cottage that I couldn't live without - WiFi, Books, warm fire and Tv/Dvd!!
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
a week ago

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings