Located in the beautiful rice paddies where lighting bugs gorgeously fly in the night.The villa was built on the edge of the land so that it will not spoil the beautiful rice field view.
4 guests
2 bedrooms
2 beds
2 baths
4 guests
2 bedrooms
2 beds
2 baths
Please set the number of adults.
Please set the number of children.
Ages 2 - 12
Please set the number of infants.
Under 2
4 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Pondok (Cottage) Lakshmi is a private designer villa equipped with modern amenities and its own swimming pool.
While providing a great deal of privacy and seclusion it is only 3 km away from the finest restaurants and shops on Ubud main street.

The space

Pondok (Cottage) Lakshmi is a private designer-built villa located merely a 5 minute drive from central Ubud in the very sought-after village of Kutuh Kaja. It is one of the villas within the VILLA VINAYAGA complex. While providing utmost privacy and seclusion it also blends with it an optimal degree of accessibility and convenience. Surrounded by luscious green rice fields and gorgeous tropical jungle terrain views it provides am ambience of utmost peace and tranquility. It is just 3 minute drive to the house where Julia Roberts lived during the filming of "Eat Pray Love".

Built on 540㎡ of land, the 150㎡ single-storey living area has 2 large and well appointed double bedrooms and is equipped with its own private swimming pool. Each room has an en-suite water-closet and outdoor shower room. A large and airy outdoor living room provides ample space for rest and relaxation. The kitchen is well equipped with all your needs for basic cooking.

As a villa built by a Japanese, he clearly wanted to infuse a little bit of Japanese taste, and as such a ZEN garden was built by a famous gardener from Kyoto, Japan at the main entrance to the villa.

The villa complex is now professionally managed and marketed by PT People Power International - an international management consulting and marketing management consultancy with offices in Jakarta, Kuala Lumpur and Colombo.

With effect from the 1st December 2014, a basic (toast, eggs, fruits and tea or coffee) set menu hot breakfast would be served to all guests on a complimentary basis. However please indicate your preference (e,g: how you like you eggs cooked and time for service) to our staff the day before to avoid wastage. There are at least 5 international restaurants within 10 min walking distance (Balinese, Japanese, Indonesian, Organic, Pork Rib BBQ) and numerous local Warungs (Cafes), some of which (such as Warung Bintang) have been rated very highly (10) on Trip Advisor. Made (pronounced Maa_day) Becik Warung is another warung in the vicinity which serves excellent local food at a reasonable price. For those looking for a fine dining experience, restaurants such as Mosaic, Bridges, Cafe des Artistes, Indus, Le Arancia, Nomad and many others will not disappoint. For the vegans amongst you please don't miss ALCHEMY at Penestanan. All the food is organic and it is good value for money.

Although only a few days old, WHITE YELLOW on Jl. Sukma (opposite Jazz Cafe) is second to none. If you are looking for authentic Balinese cuisine with original flavours this is a cafe that you must visit. It is open for lunch and dinner. One of their local specialities is Babi Nyatnyat, which is an authentic Balinese dish of pork cooked in a variety of fine spices and served with jak fruit and banana trunk. It is available however only on selected days.

Villa Vinayaga is a villa complex comprising 4 stand-alone 2 BR villas (Lakshmi, Vidyaa, Dharaa and Paraa), and stands on a 1,500㎡ site. While security is not a great concern in Ubud we would rather be safe than sorry and hence the premises is manned at night (10 pm to 6 am) by an appropriately equipped professional security guard who has also hot-line access to the local Police Station. In addition we have recently invested in a state of the art HIK VISION iVMS-4500 closed-circuit (CCTV) security monitoring and recording system for your added protection. Be that as it may we would still encourage you to store all your jewelery and valuables in the safe deposit box provided as we cannot be held responsible for the loss of any unattended items. The safety and security of our guests is our utmost priority.

Our staff is our greatest asset. Every single person has been hand-picked based on a combination of honesty, integrity and ability. The overall management is the responsibility of the owner (Shireen) herself who could be contacted on + (PHONE NUMBER HIDDEN) or + (PHONE NUMBER HIDDEN) days X 7 days X 24 hours). Shireen is ably assisted (when she is away overseas) by APEL, (+(PHONE NUMBER HIDDEN)) in case of any emergency. A friendly Balinese caretaker, APEL, who lives nearby the villa will take care of anything you need such as rental of car, motor bike, laundry services or indeed any other unique requirement that you may have. He speaks good English. To protect your privacy, he does not stay at the villa 24 hours, but is available 24 X 7 on his mobile ph(PHONE NUMBER HIDDEN)). Please send him a (SENSITIVE CONTENTS HIDDEN) message if you are unable to reach her via a voice call,.

The villa is cleaned from 10 am-noon everyday, except for the days of Balinese ceremony or upon your request. In the daytime a gardener does the gardening and maintenance. Linen is changed daily but do let us know if you would like to assist us in conserving the planet and want your linen changed only every other day. It is entirely your choice.

We are happy to arrange meeting and transfer services from the Ngurah Rai international airport airport (or any other location in the Kuta, Denpasar, Seminyak area) at a cost of USD 32 EACH way. Adequate notice (preferably 2 days in advance) is required for this service. The vehicles is a 4 seater SUV and hence only has space for a reasonable amount of baggage.

We could assist you to rent a scooter or a motor cycle if that suits your local travel needs. However if you require a car please contact PAK APEL who would be able to assist you in renting one through our approved transport partner company.

Guest access

In this digital day and age it is not always possible to live without internet and international news media.
The villa is thus equipped with modern conveniences like fastest possible Wi-Fi (2Mbps) in Bali, 42 inch TV and international cable TV (58 channels), DVD with many selected movies, and enough power outlets to charge your devices. Fibre optic cabling is not yet available in this area.

Toilets are TOTO shower-toilet type. We can also help you to rent motorbikes, cars, drivers, adventure tours, massage... at reasonable rates so that you don't have to deal with bargaining and struggling to get the best rates. We do not take any profit from such arrangements. Let us take all the stress away for reasonable price so you can just relax and enjoy everything that Bali has to offer.

- 42 inch LG flat TV (cable TV 58ch)
- DVD (movies 30 titles)
- Air conditioner x 2 (in each bed room)
- Automatic washing machine (8kg)
- iron and ironing board
- TOTO shower toilet x 2
- juice mixer
- microwave and toaster
- USB stereo
- a local mobile phone for emergency use and to contact our staff whenever needed

NB: Please note that while every effort is made to ensure stability and consistency of wi-fi and TV connectivity, we cannot be held responsible for 'force-majeure' situations resulting from lack of service by the local service provider.

Interaction with guests

365 days X 7 days X 24 hours communication access (by phone and email) is guaranteed to all our guests. The Owner (Shireen - (SENSITIVE CONTENTS HIDDEN) number (PHONE NUMBER HIDDEN)) spends two weeks of every month on site in Ubud and manages the property in a hands-on manner. During the weeks that Shireen is overseas she is ably assisted by our Caretaker Pak APEL, a Balinese, who handles all guest relations matters. APEL (PHONE NUMBER HIDDEN) lives only 3 mts away from the villas.

Other things to note

UBUD has a tropical climate and all guests have to be conscious of the conditions in such conditions. While every effort is made by us to eliminate the harmless black ants and mosquitoes by weekly spraying schedules please take every additional precaution (such as anti-insect sprays, eucalyptus oil etc) you may deem necessary based on your individual tolerance threshold.

Fresh water is supplied by the local government authorities through the main supply pipeline. In the dry season however (June to October) water level drop and hence supply is restricted. Please assist us by conserving water and avoid the unnecessary use of the washing machine. It is advisable to send your soiled clothes to the local laundry which is both efficient and inexpensive. Our staff could assist you with this. We have now completed the construction of a bore-well to alleviate this problem.

Please help towards 'SAVING THE PLANET' by conserving electricity (please switch off air-conditioners and lights when not in use) and conserve fresh water as and when possible.

While linen could be changed every day for long-staying guests, please also let us know if you prefer us to change the linen every other day. The choice however is entirely yours. Every single action helps towards achieving the greater goal.

We have embarked on a very ambitious upgrading and renovation initiative in order to provide our guests with an even better experience and also to exceed your expectations even more. While every effort would be made to carry out this work when the villa is unoccupied we humbly request your kind indulgence and tolerance should there be any minor inconveniences during this process.

While every reasonable care is exercised to protect the safety and security of our guests, please beware that we cannot be held responsible for any perils, damages or injuries to you or to the property due to 'acts of God' or 'force majeure' circumstances. Please exercise reasonable personal care in all circumstances.


Security Deposit $225
Weekly Discount: 5%
Weekend Price $225 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
Check in is anytime after 2PM
Check out by 11AM

It is not our intention to 'police' your actions and/or impose restrictions that stifle your style and spoil your holiday. Be that as it may, please respect the facilities and our other guests by abiding with the following guidelines.

The use or possession of banned drugs and narcotics is a punishable offense in Bali which could result in the DEATH PENALTY. The observance of our ZERO TOLERANCE standards is therefore critical.

NO smoking inside the rooms. It is for your own safety.
NO pets allowed. It could disturb guests in the other villas.
NO loud music and party after 9 PM. Ubud is a very quiet farming village and everybody here enjoys peace and tranquility.
NO glass at the pool and pool area. It for for your own safety
Switch off the air conditioners & lights when leaving the room or not in use.


It is very important to enjoy yourself!!!


Safety features
First aid kit

2 nights minimum stay

97 Reviews

Check In
Virginie User Profile
August 2017
A great stay in Lakshmi villa; we stay 10 wonderful days and everything was as we expected from the site (description and pictures are precise) ; ideal geographical place to visit Bali and its surroundings; the villa itself is clean, calm and beautiful; big swimming pool; not to mention "Apple" who is of great help to guide us during our excursions, drive, propose nice restaurants and can even provide cooking lesson ! a special thanks to him and our hosts ; a place to be ; kids were delighted; Virginie & Eric
Shireen User Profile
Response from Shireen:
Thanks very much for your kind words Eric & Virginie. We do our utmost to ensure that our guests have a memorable stay with us and hence it is very appreciated when our efforts are appreciated.
August 2017

Mathieu User Profile
July 2017
A very nice stay in this beautiful villa perfectly suited for a family with children or group of friends. Just consider renting bikes or car or plan a 10 to 20$ taxi budget, as the villa is a bit far from city center and touring sites. The area is nice though, with restaurants and spas at walking distance.

Hoyoung User Profile
June 2017
After a week's reservation, I left for a day. All night I had a message with the airbb official about the villa situation. I sent a lot of complaints after check-in, but host shireen did not answer or call. The manager could not see until I left. There was only one young worker in the villa, and the villa worker did not check my information and did not check who it was. Guests should keep in mind that the situation in the villas is very different from the airbb hostel descriptions and photos. Even in nature, villas must be managed. Living in nature is a good thing, but untouched nature and villas are deadly to guests. I would like to write a very long experience about this villa, but it seems like a waste of time. The Villa host really should have made a deep apology to me. It is the user's choice to choose this villa, but I hope you do not have the same experience as me. This requires the efforts of the host.

Irene User Profile
August 2016
I expected more from this villa. We were 4 in The house for 5 days on August. The house structure is good, but not so clean. We have never seen The owner. The guy working in The house was really kind, but didn't understand english so he couldn't answer our needs (breakfast arrived always when it was time to leave, phone was not working, ...). Beds not always clean. The house position is cool but far from The centre, we had to wait for The driver for 30 minutes or more sometimes. Wifi was working out of The villa but not inside.
Shireen User Profile
Response from Shireen:
We always welcome constructive feedback so that we could improve our services better, however we have our reservations about the above for the reasons stated below: 1) While it is not our responsibility to arrange transport we always assist an and when possible. The delay caused by Drivers is beyond our control and certainly not our responsibility 2) A mobile phone is provided as an additional courtesy service. My staff says that it is working very well and hence the claim is unsubstantiated and never reported to our staff if indeed there was a problem. 3) The Housekeepers speak an adequate level of working English. To expect anything higher is unrealistic in Bali. 4) The complaint about cleanliness is very subjective and vague for us to investigate further. It almost seems malicious. 5) The distance of the villa has been clearly stated on our listing and there is nothing we van do about a 4km distance from Jl. Raya Ubud In view of the above we humbly feel that the complaints above are unfair and malicious. Regards, Shireen
August 2016

Sayontan User Profile
April 2016
Lakshmi Villa looks perfectly like it is in photos. Shireen responded quickly though I did not get the opportunity to meet her. Location is about 2.8kms away from the hustle & bustle of Ubud Center, so you will enjoy the relaxation in natures lap. There were some problems in communication as the onsite manager understood very little english but he did everything to sort out our issues once he figured out our requirements. Villa and pool were well maintained and clean. Be sure to check out the food at Kutuh Coffee nearby

Roman User Profile
April 2016
We had some issues that were solved by willa owner very quickly. Staff of the villa are local guys. Well.... you have to call them and explain everything you want them to do... in details.... twice.... the rest was fine.

Yi User Profile
March 2016
It's our first trip to Bali, It's very kind of Shireen to arrange transfer to the villa for us coz the place is not easy to find. The only problem is when we first arrived the guy couldn't really speak English thus we couldn't get any guidance. So we tried to call the host but we can't reach. We were the only guests there so it's very peaceful. Motorbike is very necessary otherwise long walk to town.

This host has 22 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Ubud, IndonesiaJoined in February 2013
Shireen User Profile

Hi, I am Shireen - your SUPERHOST at Villa VINAYAGA, a complex of four 'pondoks' (cottages), namely LAKSHMI, VIDYAA, DHARAA and PARAA. Welcome to Ubud. I promise you that I will do everything within my means to make your stay with us a memorable one.

Born in Malaysia, I spent the first few years of my professional life as a Flight Attendant with Malaysia Airlines before venturing into my family business and spending the next 15 years as the Director of Marketing for a diversified group of companies engaged in businesses ranging from food and beverage to printing and packaging, trading etc.

I now divide my time between Ubud and Kuala Lumpur. Why should you travel to Italy to EAT, India to PRAY and Bali to FIND LOVE when you can do all three right here in the "Island of the Gods" - BALI. It was love at first sight for me when I first visited Ubud. I am unable to think of many other places in the world where one could enjoy as much peace and tranquility. To be lulled to sleep by the rustling of leaves and the flowing of water in the stream below to being woken up in the morning by the chirping of birds, the croaking of frogs, the quacking of wild ducks and the crowing of the village rooster is a lifestyle that big city living just cannot offer.

A Mother of 4 teenagers, I manage to maintain a healthy balance between my work and family lives. I enjoy travelling and cooking. My Husband (an Australian management consultant) assists me with my business ventures and I value his support immensely. Our pet - a 2 year old poodle called LILO is very special to us and keeps us all very amused throughout the day.

My passion is to serve the needy and the less fortunate. As an active charter member of the Rotary Club of Seputeh, I am very committed to the alleviation of poverty and the provision of basic needs and life skills to impoverished communities in Indonesia and Malaysia. This business venture is another step towards enhancing my community service work in Bali. My motto echoes that of Rotary International - "Service Above Self".

Welcome to Ubud and do enjoy your stay with us at your "Home away from home". We are at your service at all times.

Languages: Bahasa Indonesia, Bahasa Malaysia, English
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighborhood

Similar listings