Spiral staircase to the loft

Private room

4 guests

1 bedroom

2 beds
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
4 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

The space

This room is a loft room which is accessed by a spiral stair from the first floor landing.There is a a new foam mattress double bed which is remarkably comfortable! There are also two single beds. At the moment the maximum number of guests I can accommodate in this room is 4. I also have a travel cot for an infant up to two and a half, depending on size. The cot could only be used if the double bed is not in use as space would be limited.
The room is quite large and sunny, heated by a radiator and has a chest of drawers and a garment rail.

Guest access

Guests will have the bathroom/shower on the first floor.
Guests are welcome to use the ground floor kitchen to self cater,and the washing machine in the extension, there is also a shower room/toilet in that extension.

Interaction with guests

Breakfast is extra. You can either have cooked or continental, or guests can self cater. One cooked breakfast is £5.00 pp. and continental is £4.00 pp.

Other things to note

The Haltwhistle Burn is a lovely little valley which takes you 2 miles up to the Wall at Cawfields Quarry. Along the burn you may see red squirrels, otters, salmon, herons, kestrels, and recently a sighting of a pair of peregrine falcons hunting at the top of the burn.

I love living in Northumberland with its wide skies and sometimes wild weather! There are so many beautiful places to see. To the east is Hexham with its stunning Abbey , to the west, Brampton and Lanercost priory. Haltwhistle also has many Bastle Houses dating from the turbulent times of the Reivers.
The best part of living here is the local people who must be amongst the friendliest to be found anywhere, I'm sure you will love being here.


The space
Accommodates: 4
Bathrooms: 1 (Private bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Check In: Anytime after 2PM
Check Out: 10AM
Pet Owner: Dog(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: 9 / night after 2 guests
Weekly Discount: 6%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
Check in is anytime after 2PM

No smoking in the house, any pets should be well behaved! I would hope guests will show respect for my home and belongings. Guests are welcome to cook their own food for dinner, food can be stored in the 'fridge.

You must also acknowledge
Must climb stairs - Stairs up to first floor and a spiral staircase to the loft.
Pet(s) live on property - I have an elderly Border Collie. She barks her welcome and will round you up.

Cancellations

Flexible

Cancel up to 24 hours before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 24 hours of your trip and the first night is non-refundable.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay

170 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Russ User Profile
August 2017
Everything great rolled into one place. Madeleine's place is second to none and her hospitality certainly exceeded our expectations. Extremely clean with all of the amenities included. A quaint 365 year old pub is basically across the street, and Hadrian's Wall is a 5 minute drive...without the typical tourist crowds. Glad we stayed at Madeleine's.

Joel User Profile
August 2017
Amazing! Comfortable, lovely loft room, spacious and clean bathroom, friendly and warm host, location nearby to Sainsbury's and close to city center. Really all you could ask for in a place.

Katrien User Profile
July 2017
such a warmhearted hospitality in the middle of Hadrian's wall-country

Stefanos User Profile
July 2017
A perfectly clean house with an amazing host. Madeleine went an extra mile to allow me to use her garage to put my bike since I have forgotten the locks in the previous place I have stayed. If you are looking for a place near Halthwhistle, Madeleine's house is the best choice.

Ilse User Profile
July 2017
A lovely place to stay. Madeleine is a charming hostess with a wide interest in what is happening in the world. Thank you for your incredible hospitality!

Iñigo User Profile
July 2017
Lovely woman in a lovely place. Always ready to give you tip's.

Gregory User Profile
July 2017
We loved our stay at Madeleine's. After spending most of the day exploring Hadrian's Wall sites, we were pleasantly surprised to read our SatNav and see that her place was just 7 minutes' drive from Vindolanda. We were ordering food at the local pub just 20 minutes after leaving Vindolanda. We enjoyed her clean and brightly lit loft, and having a spacious bathroom to ourselves. Madeleine was a warm, helpful host (and her dog, Jess, was a sweetie, too). The full breakfast was, indeed, full, and enhanced by good conversation with Madeleine. We highly recommend this listing!

This host has 177 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
England, United KingdomJoined in January 2013
Madeleine User ProfileMadeleine is a superhost.

I am a retired teacher. I live with my border collie Jess in Northumberland. I have a little garden which is still in the early stages as I've only lived here since December 2009. I enjoy walking, gardening, I am a WI member, I sing in the local choir and attend a book group. I'm trying to learn Italian as I am a quarter Italian and love everything to do with Italy. I also go to drawing classes and am a member of the Garden club. I love to travel and was away in Italy for a month last year, I drove there in March and took Jess with me. Then in August I was a Games Maker in Weymouth for the Olympic sailing. I listen to R4 and R3 . I read a lot and am quite laid back and like to do everything I can to make people welcome and ensure they have a good stay in Northumberland.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

Similar listings